Frankston, Victoria – Wikipedia

This article is about the Melbourne suburb. For the encompassing local government area, see City of Frankston
suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Frankston is a suburb of Melbourne in Victoria, Australia, in the local government area of the City of Frankston. It is located 41 kilometer southeast of the Melbourne city center, union of the Mornington Peninsula. Due to its geographic localization, it is often referred to as “ the gateway to the Mornington Peninsula ”.

european settlement of Frankston began around the lapp time as the initiation of Melbourne in 1835—initially as an unofficial fish greenwich village serving the early Melbourne township. [ 2 ] Prior to its colony, the Frankston area was chiefly inhabited by the Mayone-bulluk kin from the Bunurong kin of the Kulin state. [ 3 ] The official village of Frankston was established in 1854, [ 2 ] [ 4 ] with its first base land sales taking identify on 29 May. [ 2 ] [ 4 ] It has subsequently given its list to the broader Frankston local politics area since 1893, and serves as both its activeness and administrative concentrate. [ 5 ] [ 6 ] Situated on the eastern shoreline of Port Phillip, Frankston has been a democratic seaside destination of Melbourne since the 1880s. [ 2 ] Frankston Beach is still one of the most frequented in Victoria, [ 7 ] [ 8 ] and is recognised as one of the cleanest in Australia. [ 9 ] [ 10 ] It is besides base to one of the largest exhibitions of sand sculpt in the Southern Hemisphere. [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] Localities in the suburb ( within its zip code 3199 ) include : Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), Frankston East, Frankston Heights, Karingal, Long Island, Mount Erin and Olivers Hill. The autonomous suburb of Frankston South besides shares the lapp zip code as Frankston. At the 2016 Census the suburb of Frankston recorded a population of 36,097. The demonym for person from Frankston is a Frankstonian. [ 14 ]

toponymy [edit ]

Frank Liardet, an early settler that Frankston is possibly named after. The toponymic origins of Frankston are subject to conjecture, and of which there are four popular theories. One of the earliest of these theories ( published in the Victorian Historical Magazine in March 1916 ) is that it was named after one of its early european settlers, Frank Liardet, [ 2 ] [ 15 ] who besides became one of its inaugural official farming owners. [ 2 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] The Liardets were outstanding pioneers of early Melbourne and arrived aboard the William Metcalfe from England in 1839. [ 17 ] [ 18 ] Liardet ‘s father, Wilbraham, founded what is immediately the Melbourne inner suburb of Port Melbourne and the family established and managed hotels about Melbourne american samoa good as the first mail military service of the early township. [ 17 ] [ 18 ] Frank Liardet settled in the Frankston area in 1847, [ 2 ] [ 19 ] after taking out a 300-acre depasturing license for land that is now the Frankston vicinity of Karingal. [ 20 ] During this time, Liardet built the beginning wooden house in the Frankston area—which would late become character of his Ballam Park estate of the realm after the courtly bring sales of 1854. [ 2 ] [ 19 ] Prior to settling in the area, Liardet had besides worked on the cattle ladder of the first Postmaster of the Port Phillip District, [ 2 ] Captain Benjamin Baxter, which was located over what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Langwarrin and Langwarrin South. [ 21 ] By the time Liardet had taken out his depasturing license for the Frankston area in 1847 an unofficial fish village was besides developing around its foreshore. [ 2 ] [ 4 ] Considering Frank Liardet ‘s early bearing in the Frankston area, and his connections to the early on mail services of Melbourne, it is plausible that “ Frank ‘s Town ” became terminology for describing the area and its unofficial greenwich village. As a consequence it is possible that the name of “ Frankston ” was far adapted from it when officially naming the village for its conventional land sales in 1854. however, in a letter to the editor program of The Argus newspaper ( published on 30 May 1916 ) a member of the Liardet family said that this was in fact not true. [ 16 ] In the letter was excerpts of parallelism between the Liardet family and the victorian state Department of Lands and Survey which refuted the hypothesis. [ 16 ] alternatively, it puts advancing the hypothesis that Frankston was named after the irish -born settler Charles Franks ; who was the foremost european to be killed by autochthonal Australians in Melbourne. [ 16 ] Charles Franks arrived in Melbourne aboard the Champion from Van Diemen ‘s Land in 1836 and made a chunky ‘s claim to land on the western side of Port Phillip near Mount Cottrel ( northeasterly of what is now the Melbourne outer-western suburb of Wyndham Vale ). [ 16 ] Franks ‘ down neighboured that of the early Melbourne explorer and surveyor John Helder Wedge, which was managed by his nephew Charles Wedge —prior to him gaining a preemptive veracious to land license of his own for the Frankston sphere. [ 16 ] The parallelism with the Department of Lands and Survey states that, at the time of surveying the area for the farming sales of 1854, the name “ Frankston ” was credibly suggested to honour the Wedge ‘s die former neighbor. [ 16 ] Another theory—that has become folklore —is that Frankston was named after a public house named “ Frank Stone ‘s Hotel ”. [ 2 ] [ 22 ] In 1929 the writer Don Charlwood, a scholar of Frankston High School at the time, compiled a history of Frankston using both local anesthetic records and oral sources supporting the hypothesis ( published in The Frankston & Somerville Standard newspaper on 8 February 1930 ). [ 22 ] The public house to which Charlwood refers was originally named the Cannanuke Inn and was the first permanent construct in the Frankston area. [ 4 ] It was built by the preemptive Frankston settler James Davey in the 1840s. [ 2 ] [ 4 ] The victorian Heritage Database states that it was located on the present site of the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute ; at 1 Plowman Place in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 23 ] [ 24 ] According to Charlwood, it was purchased by a “ Mr. Stone ” in the early-1850s who, after the parturition of his son, “ Frank ”, renamed it “ Frank Stone ‘s Hotel ” and around which the greenwich village developed and besides had its name adapted from for its formal nation sales in 1854. [ 22 ] As there appear to be no license records for the Cannanuke Inn, it is unmanageable to determine if this is in fact true. however, Charlwood does mention that Stone had purchased the Cannanuke Inn from “ a man named Standring ”. [ 22 ] Licensing records state that Benjamin Standring was the owner of the Frankston Hotel from 1857 to 1860. [ 25 ] [ 26 ] besides, according to the terms of his preemptive right to land license, [ 27 ] [ 28 ] Davey did not have the right to sell or sub-let the Cannanuke Inn. [ 29 ] It is therefore unlikely that Stone purchased or leased the Cannanuke Inn from Davey or Standring before the conventional farming sales for Frankston in 1854—and after which the appoint “ Frankston ” was already in use. [ 30 ] [ 31 ] [ 32 ] A more holocene theory, put ahead by the writer and historian Michael Jones in his local history book Frankston: Resort to City ( published in 1989 ), is that Frankston was named after the heroic british united states army general Sir Thomas Harte Franks. [ 2 ] The theory is strengthened by the fact that a number of places near Frankston besides have names that are derived or adapted from those of british united states army generals and statesmen ( such as Cranbourne, Hastings, Lyndhurst, Mornington and Pakenham ). Jones states that the Surveyor General of Victoria from 1853 to 1858, Sir Andrew Clarke, named all of these places. [ 2 ]

history [edit ]

autochthonal history [edit ]

anterior to the foundation of Melbourne by Europeans in 1835, the sphere surrounding Port Phillip was originally populated by autochthonal Australians of the Kulin state for an estimate 31,000 to 40,000 years. [ 33 ] Particularly, the Frankston area was inhabited chiefly by the Mayone-bulluk kin from the Bunurong tribe of the Kulin nation. [ 3 ] [ 33 ] [ 34 ] The tribe of the Kulin nation were a mobile people with no sedentary settlements. [ 3 ] As a consequence, there is minimal physical testify of their past. [ 3 ] The Bunurong tribe in detail were chiefly hunter-gatherers that maintained an ecologically sustainable custom of travelling between areas of seasonally abundant resources. [ 3 ] For the Mayone-bulluk kin ; Kananook and Sweetwater creek and the early swamps and wetlands of the Frankston area were rich sources of pisces and eel equally well as summer fruit and vegetables. [ 3 ] [ 35 ] [ 36 ] An important meet place for the Bunurong tribe clans of the greater Mornington Peninsula region was the present web site of the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute, at 1 Plowman Place in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), which was used for corroborees and as a trade invest. [ 37 ] Bunurong territory, of which Frankston is a separate, stretches from the Werribee River in the western metropolitan area of Melbourne east to Wilsons Promontory in Gippsland and was referred to as marr-ne-beek ( “ excellent country ” ) amongst the Kulin state kin. [ 34 ] [ 37 ] According to the Indigenous Australian mythology of the Dreamtime, the Bunurong district was created by the ancestor spirit Lohan. [ 34 ] Patrilineally, all Bunurong tribe members are considered direct descendants of Lohan. [ 34 ] The godhead of the Kulin nation-proper was the deity eaglehawk heart Bunjil, and the defender of its waterways and keeper of the wind was the prankster corvus spirit Waa. [ 34 ] Bunjil and Waa are the two moiety totems that govern the kinship system of the Kulin state tribe. [ 34 ] The Mayone-bulluk kin of the Frankston area was closely linked through marriage to the Wurundjeri-balluk kin of the Melbourne city center area, from the neighbouring Woiwurrung tribe, based on this system. [ 34 ] Two wooden sculptures of eagles, inspired by Bunjil, by artist Bruce Armstrong ; a 5- meter translation on Mayone-bulluk kin land, erected on Young Street in Frankston in 2001, [ 38 ] and a 25-metre version on Wurundjeri-balluk kin land, erected on Wurundjeri Way in Melbourne Docklands in 2002, [ 39 ] are representative of this liaison. The earliest commemorate brush of the Bunurong tribe with Europeans in the Frankston area was in early 1803, when Captain Charles Robbins sailed his ship the Cumberland into Port Phillip on the surveying excursion headed by Charles Grimes. [ 40 ] On 30 January, Grimes went ashore at Kananook Creek in search of fresh water and made peaceful contact with “ around 30 of the natives ” —most probably members of the Mayone-bulluk kin. [ 40 ] Another possible run into of the Mayone-bulluk kin with Europeans in 1803 was in late-December, with three convicts that had escaped from the failed settlement by Captain David Collins at Sorrento on the southern Mornington Peninsula. [ 41 ] Among the escapees was William Buckley, who belated lived with the Wadawurrung-balug kin from the neighbor Wathaurong tribe of the Kulin nation for 32 years. [ 41 ] After travelling north up the Mornington Peninsula for two days, Buckley describes coming to a creek that ran “ near to the true laurel ” —most likely Kananook Creek and Long Island in the Frankston area—where they encountered a “ large tribe of the natives … armed with spears ” but did not make direct contact. [ 41 ] The number of Bunurong tribe members at the time of contact with Europeans in the 1800s was estimated to be 300. [ 42 ] James Fleming, a member of Charles Grimes ‘ surveying expedition in early 1803, reported observing smallpox scars on members of the Kulin nation tribe he had encountered—indicating that an epidemic had affected them prior to 1803. [ 40 ] [ 42 ] Smallpox arrived in Australia with the First Fleet in 1788 and reached the Port Philip area in 1790, via the first european village in Australia at Port Jackson, claiming at least half the population of the compound Kulin nation tribe. [ 33 ] Following permanent wave european liquidation in 1835, another smallpox epidemic reduced the number of Bunurong tribe members to 83 by 1839. [ 42 ] An influenza epidemic during the 1840s further reduced their number to 28 by 1850. [ 42 ] The end full-blooded member of the Bunurong tribe, Yam-mer-book, besides known as Jimmy Dunbar ( from the Ngaruk-Willam kin, which was geographically close to the Mayone-bulluk kin ) who lived to the north of Frankston near Mordialloc, died of natural causes in 1877. [ 42 ]

european colony [edit ]

Fishermen were among the earliest Europeans to unofficially settle the Frankston area following the basis of Melbourne on 30 August 1835. [ 2 ] Living in tents and wattle and daub huts on its foreshore and around the base of Olivers Hill, they would travel by gravy boat to the early Melbourne township to sell their catches. [ 2 ] [ 4 ] [ 43 ] James Davey arrived in the Frankston sphere in 1840, gaining a 640 acre preemptive correct to land license over what are now the suburb of Frankston and Frankston South from Olivers Hill south to Daveys Bay. [ 2 ] [ 43 ] Davey built the Cannanuke Inn in the mid-1840s, which was the beginning permanent building in the Frankston area, [ 2 ] [ 23 ] and was located on the locate of the present Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute at 1 Plowman Place in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 24 ] He built the inaugural permanent wave wooden house in the southern Frankston area located near Daveys Bay on Olivers Hill in 1851—which was primitively known as “ Old Man Davey ‘s Hill ”. [ 44 ] [ 45 ] In 1843 Frank Liardet, the eldest son of the early Melbourne settler Wilbraham Liardet, took out a 300-acre depasturing license for what is now the Frankston vicinity of Karingal. [ 20 ] Liardet built the first permanent wave wooden house in the eastern Frankston sphere in 1847—which would late become share of his Ballam Park estate after the courtly land sales of 1854. [ 19 ] Davey subsequently partnered in the cattle run of Captain Benjamin Baxter, the first Postmaster and former Clerk of Petty sessions for the Port Phillip District, during the early-1850s. [ 43 ] Their tend covered the majority of what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Langwarrin and Langwarrin South. [ 21 ] The fisherman James Oliver built his house on northern Olivers Hill around this prison term, so he could keep determine for schools of pisces in the waters below, and after whom the vicinity is now known by its stream name. [ 2 ] The explorer and surveyor Charles Wedge besides arrived around this time, gaining a preemptive veracious to land license over what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Carrum Downs and Seaford. [ 43 ] [ 46 ] [ 47 ] Thomas and Grace McComb arrived in the Frankston area in 1852. [ 43 ] [ 48 ] Thomas assisted with the development of the local fish industry, and Grace was the first harbor and midwife in the area. [ 2 ] [ 43 ] [ 48 ] Thomas Ritchie arrived in 1854 and established a bakery that same year on what is now Nepean Highway in the Frankston CBD. [ 49 ] The cardinal Frankston area was surveyed by Thomas Hanbury Permein for the priggish colonial government in early 1854. [ 4 ] [ 22 ] [ 24 ] [ 50 ] The alone preexistent permanent wave build in Permein ‘s sketch is the Cannanuke Inn. [ 24 ] The plan for the new greenwich village of Frankston was drawn by James Philp from the Office of the Surveyor General of Victoria on 1 May 1854—with the Cannanuke Inn as a central point and located on Lot 1 of a block bordered to the west by Bay Street, to the north by Davey Street, to the east by Wedge Street ( now Young Street ) and to the south by a public reserve ( now Plowman Place and Frankston Park ). [ 30 ] Philp ‘s design consisted of 29 criterion lots, 49 suburban lots, nine country lots of 430 acres, and besides reserved position for a greenwich village concentrate that would finally become the Frankston CBD. [ 4 ] [ 30 ] The first formal land sales for the new village of Frankston took invest on 29 May 1854. [ 4 ] [ 50 ] [ 31 ] Frankston was gazetted in late-April of that year as being “ well watered with springs … the smell and spirit of the water system being noteworthy ”. [ 31 ] [ 32 ] The road to Melbourne was extended from Brighton to Frankston ( now the Nepean Highway ) with bridges over Kananook Creek and Mordialloc Creek in late 1854. [ 51 ] Liardet became one of the first official land owners in Frankston after the dinner dress farming sales—establishing his Ballam Park estate of the realm on the farming that he had a depasturing license for. [ 18 ] There is a democratic theory ( published in the Victorian Historical Magazine in March 1916 ) that Frankston was named after Liardet due to his earlier bearing in the sphere. [ 2 ] [ 15 ]

nineteenth century [edit ]

Following the first formal bring sales for the new village on 29 May 1854, on 12 December, Samuel Packham was granted the license to establish the Frankston Hotel. [ 52 ] Licensing records ( and newspaper articles ) suggest that it was located on what is now the northwest corner of Davey Street and Nepean Highway ( the salute site of the Pier Hotel ). [ 53 ] [ 54 ] [ 55 ] [ 56 ] Packham advertised the Frankston Hotel as a nation retreat, and employed a kangaroo tracker and organized game hunting expeditions from the hotel. [ 57 ] Charles Wedge established his Banyan sheep post on his preemptive right to land over what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Carrum Downs and Seaford after the formal kingdom sales of 1854, [ 46 ] [ 47 ] and James McMahon purchased lands over what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Sandhurst and Skye at this time. [ 58 ] The first permanent wave brick house in Frankston was built at Ballam Park in 1855 and replaced the 1847 wooden house on the site. [ 19 ] It was built by Frederick Liardet, the younger brother of Frank, and was designed in a french Colonial Gothic Revival style by their don Wilbraham. [ 18 ] [ 19 ] The sign of the zodiac is listed on the victorian and australian inheritance registries through the National Trust of Australia. [ 19 ] [ 59 ] It is immediately managed by the Frankston Historical Society which conducts tours of the house and besides maintains a local history museum at the estate of the realm. [ 60 ] A web site for a church of England ( Anglican ) was reserved after the conventional land sales. [ 61 ] Located on the corner of what is nowadays Bay Street and High Street in the Frankston CBD, the two acre locate besides included an area for a school a well as a irregular burying ground. [ 61 ] A impermanent hall was built in 1856 and served as both a position of worship and as a school ( which late became the Woodleigh School ). [ 61 ] [ 62 ] The first post office in Frankston opened on 1 September 1857 which besides initially operated from the hall. [ 44 ] [ 63 ]

early economy [edit ]

Frankston Beach in 1873, with the pier and greenwich village in the background. Frankston ‘s fishing industry was further developed with the aid of Thomas McComb, who funded the construction of Frankston Pier in 1857. [ 2 ] [ 45 ] [ 64 ] Following a petition by residents, to the priggish colonial Department of Public Works, the pier was extended into deep water in 1863. [ 45 ] [ 64 ] A gaslamp was installed at the end of the pier and a lamplighter was besides employed. [ 45 ] Frankston Fish Company was founded in 1867, by a consortium of local businessmen including Thomas Ritchie, [ 65 ] in ordering to transport the catches of local fishermen in majority to the fish markets of the Melbourne city center. [ 45 ] In 1870, Ritchie established his foremost general store on what is now the southwest corner of Playne Street and Nepean Highway in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 65 ] Ritchies Stores is now the largest independent grocery store chain in Australia—with its headquarters inactive located in the Frankston area. [ 65 ] [ 66 ]
Main Street of Frankston in 1886. The Pier Hotel is on the fore-left and the Bay View Hotel is on the mid-right. On 15 November 1873, William Davey Jr., grandson of preemptive Frankston settler James Davey, applied for the license to establish the Bay View Hotel, on what is now the northeast corner of Davey Street and Nepean Highway ( the confront web site of The Grand Hotel ) in the Frankston CBD. [ 67 ] It was constructed with a guest sign of the zodiac which Davey had shipped from Jersey. [ 23 ] [ 43 ] Following a prayer by residents to the victorian colonial Department of Education in 1873, headed by Grace McComb, the first government school in Frankston was built on Davey Street in 1874. [ 68 ] The No. 1464 Frankston School ( Which late became Frankston Primary School ) opened on 1 November of that year with an initial registration of 45 students. [ 68 ] Mark Young purchased the Frankston Hotel on 13 August 1875 for £ 380, [ 69 ] and renamed it the Pier Hotel ( under which identify it continues to operate ). [ 70 ] Young spent an estimated £3700 on improvements to the hotel, making it one of the finest in the colony of Victoria at the time. [ 23 ] [ 44 ] In 1879, following a league of city councils in inner-Melbourne, the Frankston sphere was chosen as the favored web site to replace the Melbourne General Cemetery. [ 71 ] The roughly 3000 acre Crown farming site was bordered to the north by Charles Wedge ‘s Banyan sheep station ( over what are now the City of Frankston suburbs of Carrum Downs and Seaford ), [ 46 ] [ 47 ] to the confederacy by Frank Liardet ‘s Ballam Park estate ( in what is immediately the Frankston vicinity of Karingal ), [ 19 ] [ 72 ] and is now the suburb of Frankston North. Its southwest corner is described as being “ about a mile [ 1.6 kilometer ] north of the village of Frankston, and the same distance east of the beach ”. [ 72 ] Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute was established on the former web site of the Cannanuke Inn, at what is now 1 Plowman Place in the Frankston CBD, in 1880. [ 44 ] [ 73 ] [ 74 ] Its construction was funded by populace donations, headed by a residents ‘ committee, and supported by friendly and sobriety societies including a Frankston group of Freemasons and the Independent Order of Good Templars, Independent Order of Rechabites and Manchester Unity of Oddfellows. [ 75 ] Its foundation stone was laid by committee president Mark Young on 22 March of that year, [ 75 ] and the construction was opened on 24 May at a cost of £280. [ 74 ]
Mark Young ‘s Pier Hotel vitamin a well as the Colonial Bank of Australasia in the seaside resort of Frankston in 1888. On 16 March 1881, the Colonial Bank of Australasia ( by and by the National Bank of Australia ) was the first depository financial institution to open a lend arm in Frankston. [ 76 ] It was located next to Mark Young ‘s Pier Hotel on what is now Nepean Highway. [ 2 ] The first library in Frankston, the Frankston Free Library, opened at the Mechanics ‘ Institute to mark its first anniversary. [ 74 ] The first 400 books of the new library were a contribution from the banker H.D. Larnach. [ 77 ] To service the proposed newly metropolitan cemetery the railway line to Melbourne was extended from Caulfield to Frankston between 1881 and 1882. [ 78 ] [ 79 ] [ 80 ] The first part from Caulfield to Mordialloc opened on 19 December 1881. [ 78 ] The second incision from Mordialloc to Frankston opened on 29 July 1882. [ 81 ] The course of the railway line was directly influenced by the location of the proposed cemetery. [ 79 ] [ 80 ] From Mordialloc to Seaford it runs adjacent to what is now Nepean Highway—which was built over a 1000-year-old sandpaper dune that once ran parallel to the coastline. [ 82 ] After Seaford it curves inland eastwards to where a “ mortuary place ” was to be located ( now Kananook railroad track station ) near the border of the proposed cemetery, [ 81 ] then continues to Frankston. [ 79 ] [ 80 ] due to concerns from undertakers about arenaceous dirt and underlying granite at the Frankston site, [ 71 ] [ 83 ] the proposed cemetery was abandoned—which was later established in the Melbourne southeastern suburb of Springvale in 1901. [ 84 ] It was besides concisely considered as one of the possible sites to replace the Melbourne Benevolent Asylum in 1887—which was former established in the southeast suburb of Cheltenham in 1911. [ 85 ] [ 86 ]

Seaside haunt [edit ]

Mark Young ‘s suspension bridge over Kananook Creek connecting the Pier Hotel to the ocean baths off Frankston Beach. Despite not becoming the web site of the new metropolitan cemetery, Frankston benefited from its new railway lineage. The travel time to the Melbourne city center was reduced from several hours by horse-drawn carriage to 90 minutes by steam train, making it a democratic seaside address for excursionists and weekend holidaymakers from the mid-1880s. [ 2 ] [ 78 ] Mark Young constructed enclose sea baths in 1883, [ 87 ] [ 88 ] [ 89 ] on a go to bed of granite located approximately 100 metres off the coastline of Frankston Beach, at a cost of £950. [ 90 ] They were connected to the coastline by a wooden pathway that led to a suspension bridge over Kananook Creek to Young ‘s Pier Hotel. [ 36 ] [ 91 ] During this time, an article in The Argus newspaper on the growth of out Melbourne ( published 4 October 1884 ) describes Frankston as “ going ahead quickly ” with “ 50 to 60 newfangled houses … [ in ] the last three years ” a well as having “ two hotels, a wine workshop, four boarding-houses, three general stores, an ironmonger, two saddlers ‘ shops [ and ] five brick-yards ”. [ 88 ] Frankston ‘s Market Gardeners ‘ and Fruit Growers ‘ Association was founded around this time, in order to transport the produce of local farmers by steam transport to New South Wales and Tasmania, and the majority of trade for the Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island, vitamin a well as southwest Gippsland, is besides described as passing through Frankston. [ 88 ]
The Prince of Wales Hotel and the Frankston Post & Telegraph Office beside it in 1890. On 8 December 1884, John Storey Petrie was granted the license to establish a third hotel in Frankston, the Prince of Wales Hotel, on what is now the southwest corner of Davey Street and Nepean Highway ( the confront locate of Davey ‘s Bar and Restaurant ) in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 92 ] It was designed in the priggish Queen Anne expressive style and was constructed of bluestone and locally-made bricks. [ 87 ] [ 93 ] The intersection of Davey Street and Nepean Highway with Young ‘s Pier Hotel ( northwest corner ), Davey ‘s Bay View Hotel ( northeastern corner ) and Petrie ‘s Prince of Wales Hotel ( southwest corner ), became known as a “ hotel corner ” from the 1890s, [ 94 ] and contemporarily as “ public house corner ”. [ 23 ] Around 100 years later, in the mid-1990s, they were joined by a cabaret on its southeast corner. [ 95 ] Frankston Brick Company was founded in 1886, [ 96 ] by a consortium of local anesthetic businessmen including William Davey Jr. and Thomas Ritchie—most probable in regulate to capitalise on the Melbourne state boom during the mid-1880s—and was belated publicly floated. [ 97 ] It was the first large-scale employer in Frankston, consolidating the existing local brick-yards onto a one web site close to Frankston Pier, [ 45 ] and producing approximately 50,000 bricks a workweek. [ 98 ] The priggish colonial government established a large military camp in what is now the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin in 1886, which aided in the growth of the Frankston area. [ 99 ] [ 100 ] The entrance to the Langwarrin Military Camp was located on the corner of McClelland Drive and Robinsons Road, [ 99 ] and it is now the Langwarrin Flora and Fauna Reserve. [ 100 ]
Frankston ‘s Old School House was built in 1889 and is now operated as an education history museum. By the mid-1880s, No. 1464 Frankston School was classified as a “ course 4 ” school ( approximately 250 pupils ) and had previously been expanded with an extension to the existing wooden school house in 1880. [ 68 ] due to its growing enrolments, and following a prayer by residents to the victorian colonial Department of Education, an extra 20 x 30 feet brick school house was built in 1889. [ 68 ] [ 101 ] The brick school house is now operated as an education history museum by the Frankston Historical Society. [ 102 ] A new Anglican church building was opened on 5 February 1887. [ 61 ] It was designed in a priggish Gothic Revival style by the cleric architect Louis Williams and built at a cost of £474. [ 103 ] [ 104 ] The St. Paul ‘s Church of England was formally licensed as a place of worship on 21 February 1888, and the Frankston Parish of St. Paul was formally established on 7 February 1889. [ 61 ] The first Roman Catholic church, St. Francis Xavier ‘s, was formally opened by Archbishop Thomas Carr on 15 December 1889. [ 105 ] [ 106 ] [ 107 ] Its initial site on Davey Street in the Frankston CBD cost £60. [ 106 ] It was designed in a victorian exempt Gothic dash by architectural firm Tappin, Gilbert and Denchy and was constructed of locally-made bricks. [ 106 ] It was originally administered by the Dandenong Parish of St. Mary and later the Mornington Parish of St. Macartan. [ 106 ] [ 107 ] On 20 October 1893, the broader Frankston area along with the eastern Mornington Peninsula riding of the old Shire of Mornington was incorporated as the Shire of Frankston and Hastings local anesthetic government sphere, with the eastern Mornington Peninsula riding becoming the new Shire of Mornington. [ 5 ] [ 108 ] Early council meetings of the new shire were held at the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute and the inaugural shire president was Cr. Edward McGurk. [ 109 ]

twentieth hundred [edit ]

Dr Sidney Plowman ‘s residency, The Lofts, on Davey Street, was Frankston ‘s first hospital in 1900. The first hospital in Frankston opened at the turn of the twentieth century, as the private sidereal day surgery and hospital of the british doctor and early Director of the Melbourne Pharmacy School Sidney Plowman. [ 110 ] [ 111 ] It operated from Dr Plowman ‘s mansion, known as The Lofts ( besides known as the Plowman Residence ), [ 111 ] at 20 Davey Street in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), until his end in 1937. [ 110 ] [ 111 ] The Lofts was designed as a fagot Anne stylus California bungalow by Blackett & Rankin Architects and constructed of locally-made bricks. [ 110 ] [ 111 ] It is listed is on the victorian and australian inheritance registries through the National Trust of Australia, [ 111 ] and was restored and incorporated into the design of Frankston ‘s australian Government Building, which was built around it in the 1990s. It presently houses the Frankston offices of the Australian Electoral Commission and the member of parliament in the australian House of Representatives for the Division of Dunkley ( of which Frankston is a part ). [ 112 ] [ 113 ] From 1909 the former proposed metropolitan cemetery site near Frankston was repurposed as a ache forest plantation by the priggish express Forestry Commission. [ 82 ] When most of the grove was destroyed by a fire on 2 January 1955, [ 114 ] the state Housing Commission established the Pine Forest housing estate ( locally called “ The Pines ” ) in 1958, and is immediately the City of Frankston suburb of Frankston North. [ 115 ] The new Commonwealth Postal Service ( now Australia Post ) opened its first position in Frankston on the southeast corner of Davey Street and Main Street ( immediately Nepean Highway ) on 12 September 1910. [ 116 ] [ 117 ] It was designed in an edwardian style by the victorian express Department of Public Works and constructed of brick. [ 116 ] It was late remodelled with the addition of a telephone exchange in 1927, and expanded again in 1941. [ 116 ] It ceased process as a post office and call exchange in the mid-1980s, after which it was operated as a restaurant. [ 116 ] Since the mid-1990s it has been operated as a cabaret. [ 95 ] In 2013, its outside was partially restored to its 1941 design. [ 95 ]
Langwarrin Military Camp in 1914, where german prisoners were held during World War I. Following the declaration of war on the german empire by the british Empire, on 8 August 1914 ( GMT ), the beginning soldier to enlist from Frankston was Sergeant William Polglase on the lapp day ( AEST ). [ 118 ] Of the soldiers from Frankston that were killed in military action in World War I, 16 are listed on the Roll of Honour at the Australian War Memorial. [ 119 ] At the begin of World War I the Langwarrin Military Camp near Frankston was used to detain around 500 german prisoners of war. [ 100 ] [ 120 ] A military hospital was later established at the camp in holy order to treat australian soldiers returning with genital disease from Egypt and France. [ 100 ] [ 121 ] Most of the prisoners of war were late transferred to Holsworthy Barracks in Sydney in 1915, however, some besides stayed to work at the hospital and settled in Frankston upon their spill. [ 120 ] Between 1915 and 1916 inquiry at the hospital halved the duration of genital disease treatment and its cost. [ 121 ] It besides advanced the burgeoning field of occupational therapy in Australia by involving its patients in gardening and music. [ 121 ] It became a state-of-the-art reclamation hospital, during this time—and besides had pet animals, landscaped gardens and shrubbery, art and musical equipment adenine well as a band for its patients. [ 121 ] The hospital closed in 1919, with the base finally following in the 1970s. [ 120 ] It is now the Langwarrin Flora and Fauna Reserve. [ 100 ] The ruins of the hospital ‘s fountain can still be found in the reserve. [ 100 ]
The Volunteer Motor Corp. in front of the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute during World War I. The Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute was expanded in 1915, with a 22 x 50 feet brick addition to its street frontage, at a cost of £529. [ 73 ] [ 122 ] The 1915 brick addition is now the oldest extant separate of the build after the 1881 manor hall section had to be rebuilt in 1956 due to fire safety concerns. [ 73 ] It became the one-eighth build to receive a blue brass from the Mechanics ‘ Institute of Victoria in 2004. [ 123 ] [ 124 ] In 2009, Frankston City Council undertook a A $ 2.5 million renovation of the build up to its 1915 plan. [ 125 ] On 17 February 1916, following a poll of residents, the Frankston Gas Company was granted permission by the shire ‘s council to establish “ electric unaccented and world power ” across the Shire of Frankston and Hastings. [ 126 ] Frankston ‘s repute as a vacation address increased peculiarly after the electrification of the railroad track line on 27 August 1922, which reduced the average travel time from 90 to 62 minutes. During this time, the broader Frankston area developed into a playground for Melbourne ‘s feeder and a regional capital for the greater Mornington Peninsula region. [ 2 ] In separate due to an increase in visitors during this time, the Frankston Life Saving Club was established on Frankston Beach in 1924. [ 127 ] [ 128 ] On 2 February 1923, the Rt. Hon. Stanley Bruce, the extremity of the Parliament of Australia representing the Division of Flinders ( of which Frankston was a depart at the time ) and the Treasurer of Australia, who lived at Pinehill ( besides known as Bruce Manor ) in Frankston, [ 129 ] [ 130 ] was elected the eighth Prime Minister of Australia following the resignation of the Rt. Hon. Billy Hughes. [ 131 ] Pinehill was built in 1926 and designed in a spanish Mission style by architectural firm Prevost, Synnot & Rewald with Robert Bell Hamilton. [ 129 ] [ 130 ] It is listed on the victorian and australian inheritance registries through the National Trust of Australia. [ 129 ] [ 130 ] The Roman Catholic Parish of St. Francis Xavier in Frankston was officially established on 4 November 1926. [ 106 ] [ 107 ] The old church was doubled in its size and a pipe organ built by George Fincham & Sons was installed in 1927. [ 106 ] A school was besides established the following year ( which late became St. Francis Xavier Primary School ). [ 107 ] St. Paul ‘s Church of England was substantially enlarged in 1933, at an calculate cost of £ 3500. [ 61 ] [ 104 ] New north and south transepts, a chancel, chancel, vestries, and a chapel of St. Richard, were all added in a charitable Gothic Revival style by its original architect Louis Williams. [ 104 ] The design incorporated the 1887 nave of the church, and besides planned for a tower at its western end. [ 104 ] Its foundation stone was laid by Archbishop Frederick Head. [ 104 ]
The erstwhile Frankston Yacht Club house in the 1940s. In 1935, the Frankston area was chosen to host the first australian Scout Jamboree. [ 2 ] It was the only Australia gala attended by the founder of the Scouting campaign Sir Robert Baden-Powell. A number of streets in the Frankston area are named after the gala. The master gala grandstand remained at Frankston Park for over 70 years until it was destroyed by a open fire on 12 February 2008 ( a replica of the old grandstand was belated built on its site in 2010 ). [ 132 ] Following the gala, the Frankston Yacht Club was officially established in 1937. [ 133 ] The first populace hospital in Frankston, the Frankston Community Hospital, was established at 2 Hastings Road in 1941. [ 134 ] now named Frankston Hospital, it is the largest of four hospitals in the suburb and is besides the foreman provider of acute secondary and tertiary care in the broader City of Frankston area and the greater Mornington Peninsula region. [ 134 ] During World War II, the Commander of the First australian Army in the Pacific theater ( from 1940 to 1945 ) and the Commander-in-Chief of australian military Forces in busy Japan ( from 1945 to 1950 ) was the Frankston-born Lieutenant General Sir Vernon Sturdee. [ 135 ] In 1946, J. R.W. “ Bill ” Pratt established his first gear grocery store store in Frankston that would later become one of the largest supermarket chains in Australia as a subsidiary company of American -owned Safeway Inc. [ 136 ] Pratt was studying mastermind at RMIT when he took a summer job at a grocery shop in Frankston in 1945. [ 137 ] He finally bought the store the come year, renaming it Pratt ‘s Stores, and developed it into one of the first supermarkets in Australia in the 1950s. [ 137 ] He besides expanded to two more supermarkets in nearby Mornington and Chelsea during this clock time. [ 137 ] [ 138 ] It was the orifice of his Chelsea supermarket that caught the attention of representatives from Safeway, who were in Australia sourcing apples, as it was officially opened by media personality ( and Frankston resident ) Graham Kennedy. [ 137 ] [ 138 ] Safeway entered Australia by merging with Pratt ‘s Stores in 1962. [ 136 ] [ 137 ] [ 138 ] As managing director of Safeway ‘s australian auxiliary, Pratt grew the chain to 126 supermarkets across eastern Australia by 1985. [ 137 ] [ 138 ] It was then bought by Australian-owned Woolworths Limited in 1985, who retained the successful Safeway post in Victoria for 23 years, before rebranding all its stores as Woolworths in 2008. [ 136 ] [ 137 ] [ 138 ]
The prototype of the Hartnett car that was manufactured in Frankston. The population of the broader Frankston area boomed during and after World War II increasing from 12,000 in 1947 to 82,000 by 1982 ( according to the former 1893 Shire of Frankston and Hastings borders ). This was in region due to the institution of politics house estates in the area to house the families of australian Military Force personnel stationed at the Langwarrin Military Camp in the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin american samoa well as at the Balcombe Army School in Mount Martha and the Flinders Naval Depot near Hastings. [ 2 ] The plastics manufacturer Nylex besides established its operations in Frankston in 1947, [ 139 ] and became one of the largest employers in the sphere for 50 years, until its operations were downgraded in the mid-2000s. [ 140 ] During the early on 1950s, Frankston was briefly base to the Hartnett Motor Company. Following his resignation as managing director of General Motors – Holden ( GMH ) in 1948, Laurence Hartnett was approached by then Prime Minister of Australia the Rt. Hon. Ben Chifley to establish an Australian-owned car company to compete with american -owned GMH in Australia. [ 141 ] At GMH, Hartnett was “ the father of the Holden “ —the inaugural Australian-made car. [ 142 ] 70 acres between Seaford and Frankston was selected for the site of the factory with the support of the priggish state government in 1949. [ 143 ] [ 144 ] [ 145 ] The Hartnett Tasman was a front-wheel drive two doorway sedan based on a design by Jean Grégoire. [ 141 ] The company planned to produce 100 cars a month at its Frankston factory. [ 146 ] however, due to the delay delivery of parts from the australian federal government ‘s Commonwealth Engineering Company, production was besides hard delayed. [ 147 ] The first Hartnett Tasman was dispatched from the factory in March 1952. [ 146 ] 125 Tasmans and its convertible interpretation, the Hartnett Pacific, were dispatched before the company went into receivership due to its delays in September 1952. [ 141 ] [ 148 ] [ 149 ] The rare Frankston-made cars are now collector ‘s items. [ 149 ]
The independent stained glass window of St Francis Xavier ‘s Catholic Church was reputed to be the largest in the Southern Hemisphere in 1954. On 7 October 1954, a new 600-seat St. Francis Xavier ‘s Roman Catholic Church was formally opened by Archbishop Daniel Mannix. [ 105 ] [ 107 ] It was designed in a Post-War Modern manner by architect Alan G Robertson and was constructed of beardless brick. [ 105 ] Its Modernist style was designed to emphasise its two stained glass windows created by artist Alan Sumner. [ 105 ] [ 150 ] The main north window was reputed to be the largest in the Southern Hemisphere at the time of its initiation. [ 105 ] The 1927 George Fincham & Sons pipe electric organ was refurbished in 1977. [ 105 ] [ 106 ] The old church was used as classrooms for St. Francis Xavier ‘s school until it was demolished in the 1970s. [ 105 ] On 26 October 1957, St. Paul ‘s Church of England was extensively damaged by fire, leaving entirely its sanctuary integral. [ 61 ] [ 151 ] Designs for the re-building of the damaged sections of the church service was again completed by its original architect Louis Williams. [ 151 ] however, he decided to use a more guarded Gothic Arts and Crafts manner for the rebuild. [ 151 ] The transepts, chancel, sanctuary, vestries and chapel service from the 1933 purpose were retained, but the 1887 nave was beyond compensate and was demolished. [ 151 ] The fresh designs included a nave with multiple gabled alcove windows with stained glass designed by mural artist Christian Waller ( wife of Napier Waller ) and a moderate translation of the column from the 1933 design. [ 150 ] [ 151 ] The foundation rock for the rebuild church service was again laid by Archbishop Frederick Head, and it was constructed of clinker brick in 1959. [ 151 ]
On the Beach (1959). Gregory Peck in front of the former Frankston railroad track station construction in the film ( 1959 ). In the summer of 1959, On the Beach, one of the beginning major Hollywood films to be made in Australia, was partially filmed in Frankston. [ 152 ] [ 153 ] [ 154 ] The film was adapted from the best-selling novel of the like appoint, by popular writer Nevil Shute ( who lived in the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin ). [ 153 ] [ 154 ] The name “ Falmouth ” is used to describe Frankston in the fresh, but its actual name is used in the film. [ 155 ] Scenes with head actors Gregory Peck and Ava Gardner were filmed at Frankston railroad track station and on Young Street in the Frankston CBD, [ 152 ] and at Frankston Beach with main supporting actors Fred Astaire ( in his first dramatic film function ), Anthony Perkins, and Donna Anderson. [ 152 ] [ 154 ] Famously, when asked to “ give us a few steps ” by an onlooker at Frankston railroad track place, the off-duty Fred Astaire danced across the length of the forecourt up to the post ramp. [ 153 ] On 19 October 1960, the eastern ride of the previous Shire of Frankston and Hastings was incorporated as the Shire of Hastings, with the central riding becoming the Shire of Frankston. [ 156 ] The shire was proclaimed a city on 24 August 1966, and incorporated as the City of Frankston. [ 156 ] The Frankston flotilla of the Volunteer Coast Guard was established in 1961, as one of the eight founding flotillas in Victoria. [ 157 ]
McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park was opened in 1971. In 1969, poet Annie May ( Nan ) McClelland bequeathed the estate known as Studio Park in the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin to establish the Harry McClelland Art Gallery and Cultural Hall in honor of her artist brother Harry McClelland. [ 158 ] The McClelland siblings were at the center of a gypsy artists group based in the Frankston vicinity of Long Island during the 1920s, which included artists and writers such as Sir Daryl and Lady Joan Lindsay, Percy Leason and William Beckwith McInnes. [ 158 ] Located at what is now 390 McClelland Drive. on the margin of Frankston and Langwarrin, it opened in 1971. [ 158 ] During its first base 40 years of operation its governor was philanthropist Dame Elisabeth Murdoch. [ 159 ] To support the acquisition of newly works, the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Foundation was established in 1989. [ 160 ] now named the McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park, it is the lead sculpt park in Australia, [ 161 ] [ 162 ] and has over 130,000 visitors per annum. [ 163 ] In 1986, the australian film Frog Dreaming ( which was retitled as The Go-Kids in the UK and The Quest in the US ) was filmed in Frankston and at nearby Moorooduc Quarry in Mount Eliza ( which was in the former 1966 City of Frankston borders at the time ). [ 164 ] The borders of the City of Frankston were redrawn in 1994, [ 165 ] [ 166 ] excising its southerly suburbs of Baxter and Mount Eliza to the new Shire of Mornington Peninsula, [ 167 ] and gaining the north-eastern suburbs of Carrum Downs and Skye from the City of Casey and the early City of Springvale. [ 168 ] The proposed name of the new city was initially “ City of Nepean ”, but the historic mention of Frankston ( which had been used for its local politics areas for over 100 years ) was ultimately keep. [ 5 ] [ 169 ] Following about a ten of campaigning by residents, in 1995, Frankston City Council opened a A $ 18.5 million arts center. [ 170 ] in the first place named the Frankston Cultural Centre, it houses an 800-seat field with the second largest proscenium arched stagecoach in Victoria. [ 171 ] It besides houses the Frankston Library, exhibition spaces, and a 500-seat function dormitory. [ 172 ] Designed by architect Daryl Jackson, and located on the recess of Davey Street and Young Street in the Frankston CBD, it was opened on 20 May by then Prime Minister of Australia the Hon. Paul Keating. [ 170 ] A compromising 194-seat theater named Cube37 with studios and a besotted workshop was besides built adjoining the northeastern corner of the concentrate in 2001, and was opened on 30 March by then Prime Minister of Australia the Hon. John Howard. [ 170 ] now named the Frankston Arts Centre, it serves over 250,000 patrons annually. [ 172 ]

twenty-first hundred [edit ]

The pedestrian pause bridge at the Frankston Waterfront, which is lit in a variety show of colours at night. At the turn of the 3rd millennium, Frankston City Council prepared a comprehensive examination outline to develop key zones on the Frankston foreshore. [ 173 ] The dodge was delivered in stages and included : a raw waterfront area with populace amenities and a visitor center ; a raise timber foreshoreway and a pedestrian bridge over the mouthpiece of Kananook Creek ; and new liveliness preservation and yacht clubhouse houses—and were primarily constructed over existing sites and cable car park areas. [ 173 ] The first gear stage of the schema, named the Frankston Waterfront, was undertaken in the mid-2000s, and included : landscape with public art ( around Frankston Pier north to the talk of Kananook Creek ) ; erection of the pedestrian bridge over the mouth of Kananook Creek ( future to the existing Frankston Yacht Club house ) ; construction of the café, restaurant and visitor concentrate building ( following to Frankston Pier ) ; facility of a large resort area ( between the fresh visitor center and existing Frankston Volunteer Coast Guard flotilla ) ; a well as the southerly extend of the foreshoreway, named the Frankston Boardwalk ( from Frankston Pier to near the free-base of Olivers Hill ). [ 173 ] The A $ 1 million Frankston Visitor Information Centre at the Frankston Waterfront opened in 2007. [ 174 ] The center has since won the victorian Tourism Award and australian Tourism Award for its “ visitor information services ” in 2012, 2013 and 2014. [ 174 ] It was besides inducted into the victorian and australian Tourism Hall of Fame in 2014 ( after which it is nobelium longer eligible for awards ). [ 175 ] In 2007, Sand Sculpting Australia made the Frankston Waterfront the home of its annual backbone festival. [ 11 ] [ 176 ] Held over four months from 26 December, it is the largest exhibition of sand art in Australia and one of the largest in the Southern Hemisphere —with approximately 3,500 tonnes of sand used during the 2014 festival. [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] The second phase of the foreshore development scheme was undertaken in the late-2000s, and included : structure of the new Frankston Life Saving Club house ( north of the Frankston Waterfront ), and the northern stretch of the Frankston Boardwalk foreshoreway ( between the new Frankton Life Saving Club and existing Frankston Yacht Club houses ). [ 173 ] In 2010, scenes for the Hollywood film Killer Elite were shot in Frankston. [ 177 ] [ 178 ] Lead actor Jason Statham spent five days in July filming at a house on Olivers Hill with supporting actors Aden Young and Lachy Hulme. [ 179 ] In the film, the house doubles as an Omani mansion overlooking the arab Sea. [ 180 ]
Olivers Hill Lookout In 2012, the major water utility provider South East Water announced its intention to consolidate its clientele operations ( 700 staff dispersed across three function locations at the time ) in a raw A $ 70 million headquarters in Frankston. [ 181 ] [ 182 ] The site of the build on Kananook Creek Boulevard ( along the easterly bank of Kananook Creek ) in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ) cost A $ 4 million. [ 183 ] The eight-storey 11,000 m2 build besides includes around 550 m2 of café and retail quad, that fronts a pedestrian promenade on Kananook Creek. [ 182 ] [ 183 ] [ 184 ] It opened in 2015 and was designed by architectural firm BVN Donovan Hill. [ 181 ] [ 184 ] In 2014, Frankston City Council opened a A $ 49.7 million health and aquatic diversion center located on the corner of Cranbourne Road and Olive Grove near the Frankston CBD. [ 185 ] Named the Peninsula Aquatic Recreation Centre ( Frankston PARC ), it has four swim pools, including an Olympic-size pool ( 50 metres ) ; an aquatic resort area and two water system slides ( by WhiteWater West ) ; a gymnasium and a health and health center deoxyadenosine monophosphate well as other relate facilities. [ 186 ] It was designed by architectural firm William Ross Architects. [ 187 ] The third and concluding stage of the foreshore development schema saw the construction of a fresh A $ 7.5 million Frankston Yacht Club house, [ 188 ] ampere well as beachfront parade, [ 173 ] and was completed in 2016 at a full cost of A $ 10.7 million. [ 189 ] It was designed by architectural firm Taylor Cullity Lethlean. [ 188 ]

Geography and climate [edit ]

The suburb is at the southernmost conclusion of Beaumaris Bay on the easterly coastline of Port Phillip ; a 22 kilometer continuous stretch of beaches, broken merely by the Patterson River, Mordialloc Creek and Kananook Creek, beginning at sandstone cliffs in the Melbourne southeast suburb of Beaumaris and ending at Olivers Hill in Frankston. The suburb of Frankston covers a large geographic area compared with early Melbourne suburb. It besides envelopes a issue of localities ( with the zip code 3199 ), which are not independent suburbs, including : Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), Frankston East, Frankston Heights, Karingal, Long Island, Mount Erin and Olivers Hill. Frankston is bordered to the west by the Port Phillip coastline ; to the north by property fronting Overton Road and Skye Road, ampere well as the Long Island and Peninsula Kingswood country clubs ( bordering the City of Frankston suburbs of Frankston North and Seaford ) ; to the east by the Mornington Peninsula Freeway / Peninsula Link ( bordering the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin ) and to the confederacy by property front Robinsons Road, Golflinks Road, Towerhill Road, Overport Road, Jasper Terrace and Warringa Road, then continuing down from Olivers Hill toward the coastline ( bordering the City of Frankston suburb of Frankston South ). [ 190 ]

geography [edit ]

Properties along the cliffs and escarpments on Olivers Hil . Granite rock formations in the Lower Sweetwater Creek Reserve. The central and northerly areas of Frankston are generally flat at about 10 to 12 metres above ocean flat ( 32 to 40 feet ). The suburb then rises gradually towards its east, and sharply at Olivers Hill towards its south. The southerly uplands of the suburb are at the northerly conclusion of an uplift sphere which is in a Horst – Graben social organization that extends down the Mornington Peninsula. [ 82 ] Similar irruptive intrusive uplifts occur again on the peninsula at Mount Martha and Arthurs Seat. Two fault zones run under the southern uplands of Frankston and continue down the Mornington Peninsula. [ 82 ] [ 191 ] Named the Manyung Fault and the Selwyn Fault, they are largely passive. however, some minor earthquakes and tremors have historically been experienced. Earthquakes with epicentres in or near the suburb of Frankston have occurred in 1932, 1978, 1980, 2009 and 2014. [ 192 ] [ 193 ] The most holocene, on 15 March 2014, measured 2.2 on the Richter order of magnitude scale. [ 194 ] The largest, on 22 September 2009, measured 3.0 on the Richter scale. [ 195 ] Olivers Hill is the most big elevation in Frankston which rises to 55 metres above sea level ( 180 feet ) at its highest point in the suburb. Its origins date to approximately 415 to 360 million years ago. Its nucleotide is Mount Eliza Granite dating from the devonian period, which was covered in lava tuffs in the Paleogene period. [ 191 ] During the Miocene epoch in the Neogene period, the Frankston area was entirely flooded by the ocean resulting in a mix of Balcombe Clay ( at deep levels ) and Baxter Sandstone ( at shallow levels ) covering the basaltic ( lava ) level. [ 191 ] Fluctuating ice ages of the Pleistocene era in the stream four period caused ocean levels to rise and fall dramatically and for sedimentary rock and sandpaper to be deposited on the surface of the hill. [ 191 ] Aeolian processes in the current Holocene epoch, in which Port Phillip has sporadically dried up ( equally recently as 1000 years ago ), has caused far backbone to be deposited. [ 191 ] With bird’s-eye views across Port Philip, Olivers Hill is home to the most expensive real estate in Frankston. It is considered to have one of the top ten residential views in Melbourne. [ 196 ] property in the vicinity has sold for between A $ 3 and A $ 4 million in 2015, [ 197 ] at the same time as the median house monetary value in the suburb of Frankston being A $ 390,000. [ 198 ]

due to fluvial processes on its levels of clay and sand and with ongoing property development, landslips on Olivers Hill are historically park. [ 199 ] The inaugural recorded landslide was in 1854 with at least one occurring again every ten up to the present sidereal day. [ 199 ] A landslide once occurred in the 1960s during a live radio show hosted by media personality Graham Kennedy from his firm on Olivers Hill, where he and his co-host Mike Walsh described how his driveway was “ slipping down the gradient ”, as they spoke on air travel. [ 199 ] [ 200 ] The most recent serious landslips occurred in 2007, 2012 and 2015. [ 199 ] [ 200 ] In all three of the occurrences, the fallen debris has blocked lanes on Nepean Highway. [ 199 ] [ 200 ] [ 201 ]

coastline [edit ]

storm over Frankston Beach near the Frankston Life Saving Club . Frankston Pier at sunset. The suburb is at the southernmost goal of Beaumaris Bay on the eastern coastline of Port Phillip ; a 22 kilometer continuous stretch of beaches, broken only by the Patterson River, Mordialloc Creek and Kananook Creek, beginning at sandstone cliffs in the Melbourne southeast suburb of Beaumaris and ending at Olivers Hill in Frankston. The suburb is at the southernmost end of Beaumaris Bay on the eastern coastline of Port Phillip ; a 22 kilometer continuous stretch of beaches, broken only by the Patterson River, Mordialloc Creek and Kananook Creek, beginning at sandstone cliffs in the Melbourne southeast suburb of Beaumaris and ending at Olivers Hill in Frankston. Frankston Beach is continually rated as one of the cleanest in Australia. It won the Keep Australia Beautiful victorian Clean Beaches Award in 2008, 2011 and 2012 ( the final examination year of the award ), and besides represented Victoria for the australian Clean Beach Award in those years. [ 9 ] [ 202 ] [ 203 ] On days of storm with gale-force westerly winds Frankston becomes one of the few areas of Port Phillip with wave swell of a size that allows for surfing —usually around two metres. [ 204 ] As a result, Frankston Beach is one of the most popular among both locals and visitors in Victoria. [ 7 ] [ 8 ] Three sandpaper bars are located off the coastline of Frankston Beach. The first bar is located relatively close the shore which creates shallow troughs in a rhythmical fashion every 150 metres. [ 8 ] [ 204 ] The second is located 100 metres offshore and besides alternates rhythmically, although less than the 150-metre fashion of the first. [ 8 ] [ 204 ] The third is straight and located 200 metres into the alcove. [ 8 ] [ 204 ] Frankston City Council besides has stern protection policies with regards to the sand dunes and native flora along the Frankston foreshore, and has regularly received commendations for its litter prevention and coastal rehabilitation programs. [ 10 ] [ 203 ] As a result, its coastline has retained much of its natural element. A raise lumber foreshoreway named the Frankston Boardwalk winds through large areas of the foreshore ( including the Frankston Foreshore Reserve ) in orderliness to protect it whilst allowing it to be enjoyed by visitors. [ 205 ] entirely winder zones on the foreshore at the Frankston Waterfront have been developed. [ 173 ] Around Frankston Pier north to the mouth of Kananook Creek is landscaped with populace art, and has a café and restaurants, a playground, the Frankston Visitor Information Centre, [ 174 ] Frankston Yacht Club, [ 133 ] and Frankston Volunteer Coast Guard. [ 206 ] North of it is the Frankston Life Saving Club. [ 127 ] Kananook Creek runs close to the coastline of Port Phillip, which creates an island effect, and gives the vicinity the name Long Island. however, it is not technically an island as the brook does not flow into the bay at any point other than its mouth near Frankston Beach. however, the creek was joined to the Patterson Lakes development in 1984 ( via an metro aqueduct ) and a pump station was built to improve the water quality in the creek. [ 207 ] A substantial sand dune, which was formed over 1000 years ago, once ran parallel to the majority of the Frankston coastline and provided the course for the Frankston railway line ( between Mordialloc and Seaford ) and for the Nepean Highway ( to Olivers Hill ). [ 82 ]

environment [edit ]

Beauty Park. Frankston is broadly a leafy suburb with a wide diverseness of natural inheritance elements. [ 82 ] There are hundreds of floral species that are autochthonal to the Frankston area, including over 20 species of orchid ( some of which are besides endemic to the area ), and can be found in bombastic natural reserves adenine well as ball public gardens in the suburb. [ 82 ] The Frankston Spider Orchid ( Caladenia robinsonii ) is a rare species of orchid that is endemic to the Frankston area. [ 208 ] It produces a 4 centimeter red and creamy-yellow flower, with five sepals, that exudes a scent which mimics the pheromones of the Thynnid wasp female in order to attract males to pollinate it. [ 208 ] It is a threaten species. [ 208 ] [ 209 ] Frankston City Council has a variety show of programs aiming to better environmental sustainability in the suburb. [ 210 ] It won the Bronze Award for its “ management of environment, and enhancement of quality of life ” at the LivCom International Awards for livable Communities in 2004. [ 210 ] The City of Frankston has besides won the Keep Australia Beautiful Victorian Sustainable Cities Award in 2008. [ 202 ] [ 210 ] It was named the overall victorian Sustainable City of the year in 2015. [ 211 ] large natural parks and reserves in the suburb are : Bunarong Park, [ 212 ] Frankston Foreshore Reserve, [ 205 ] Lower Sweetwater Creek Reserve, [ 213 ] and Paratea Reserve. [ 214 ] Large conventional populace parks and gardens in the suburb are : Ballam Park, [ 215 ] Beauty Park, [ 216 ] Frankston Waterfront, [ 217 ] and George Pentland Botanic Gardens. [ 218 ]

Landmarks [edit ]

The 150-year-old and 500-metre Frankston Pier is a local landmark. Ballam Park estate, located on Cranbourne Road in the Frankston vicinity of Karingal, is home to the first brick house in the Frankston area. [ 19 ] The house was built in 1855 for Frank Liardet, by his younger brother Frederick, and was designed in a french Colonial Gothic Revival style by their founder Wilbraham. [ 18 ] [ 19 ] It is listed on the victorian and australian heritage registries through the National Trust of Australia. [ 19 ] [ 59 ] It is managed by the Frankston Historical Society which conducts tours of the house and besides maintains a local history museum at the estate. [ 60 ] The 500-metre Frankston Pier is a local landmark of the suburb. [ 204 ] in the first place built in 1857, it has been both extended deoxyadenosine monophosphate well as repaired a number of times over the years. [ 45 ] [ 64 ] Near Frankston Pier is the arced pedestrian bridge over the sass Kananook Creek, erected in 2003 as partially of the Frankston Waterfront development, [ 173 ] which is besides lit in a kind of colours at night. Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute, located at 1 Plowman Place in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), which was established in 1880, is the oldest public building in the suburb. [ 44 ] [ 73 ] [ 74 ] It was expanded in 1915 with an summation to its street facade, which is now the oldest extant part of the build. [ 73 ] According to the victorian Heritage Database, it was once the site of the first permanent build in the Frankston area, a public house named the Cannanuke Inn, built in the mid-1840s. [ 24 ] The consumption of the site as a meet set besides pre-dates european colony of Frankston, and was used by the Indigenous Australian clans of the Bunurong tribe on the Mornington Peninsula for corroborees and as a deal place. [ 37 ] McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park is a major public art gallery in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. Established in 1971, [ 158 ] and located at 390 McClelland Drive on the boundary line of Frankston and the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin, it is besides the lead sculpt park in Australia. [ 161 ] [ 162 ] It has over 130,000 visitors annually. [ 163 ] The 12-storey Peninsula on the Bay, located at 435 Nepean Highway in the Frankston CBD, is the tallest building in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. [ 219 ] Built in 1973 as a shop center and offices complex named the Peninsula Centre and designed in a brutalist stylus, it was once called “ the worst build up in Australia ” by comedian Barry Humphries. [ 219 ] It remained largely vacant during the 2000s, [ 219 ] until it was redeveloped as a lavishness serviced apartments and offices complex by Asian Pacific Group in 2013. [ 220 ] Frankston Arts Centre is the largest art center in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula, ampere well as one of the largest in the metropolitan area of Melbourne, and is a major landmark of the suburb. [ 172 ] Built in 1995 on the corner of Davey Street and Young Street in the Frankston CBD, it was designed by architect Daryl Jackson. [ 170 ] It serves over 250,000 patrons per annum. [ 172 ]

climate [edit ]

Frankston has a temperate oceanic climate, the lapp as the rest of the metropolitan area of Melbourne ; however, the suburb is normally around 2 °C cooler than the Melbourne city center. Frankston is one of the death areas of Melbourne to experience the cool change weather effect that occurs during summer .

Climate data for Frankston
Month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Year
Record high °C (°F) 42.0
(107.6)
40.8
(105.4)
37.1
(98.8)
31.1
(88.0)
26.6
(79.9)
21.6
(70.9)
22.4
(72.3)
22.4
(72.3)
27.6
(81.7)
32.5
(90.5)
37.2
(99.0)
40.2
(104.4)
42.0
(107.6)
Average high °C (°F) 24.7
(76.5)
24.9
(76.8)
22.5
(72.5)
19.2
(66.6)
16.0
(60.8)
13.6
(56.5)
12.8
(55.0)
13.7
(56.7)
15.6
(60.1)
17.6
(63.7)
20.3
(68.5)
22.3
(72.1)
18.0
(64.4)
Average low °C (°F) 15.5
(59.9)
16.0
(60.8)
14.5
(58.1)
12.3
(54.1)
10.5
(50.9)
8.7
(47.7)
8.0
(46.4)
8.3
(46.9)
9.4
(48.9)
10.5
(50.9)
12.2
(54.0)
13.8
(56.8)
11.6
(52.9)
Record low °C (°F) 3.9
(39.0)
9.1
(48.4)
7.1
(44.8)
−1.6
(29.1)
3.2
(37.8)
−0.3
(31.5)
−4.1
(24.6)
−3.9
(25.0)
−1.6
(29.1)
−4.2
(24.4)
0.8
(33.4)
6.3
(43.3)
−4.2
(24.4)
Average rainfall mm (inches) 37.6
(1.48)
52.8
(2.08)
47.5
(1.87)
63.6
(2.50)
68.5
(2.70)
61.1
(2.41)
62.3
(2.45)
64.4
(2.54)
60.4
(2.38)
65.9
(2.59)
58.5
(2.30)
51.6
(2.03)
693.8
(27.31)
Average rainy days ( ≥ 0.2mm ) 5.6 6.3 7.5 10.7 12.2 13.6 15.4 15.0 13.0 12.7 10.4 8.1 130.5
Average relative humidity (%) 59 60 60 63 70 73 74 71 67 61 60 59 65
Source: Bureau of Meteorology[221][222]
(rainfall data is taken from Mount Eliza, as the closest geographically located station to Frankston, as rainfall data from the Frankston AWS is currently unavailable)

demography [edit ]

According to the 2016 census there were 36,097 people in Frankston, with 1.0 % being autochthonal Australian, 68.9 % of people were born in Australia. The most coarse countries of alien give birth were England 5.6 %, New Zealand 2.6 %, India 1.2 %, China 1.1 % and Scotland 0.9 %. [ 1 ] 47.7 % of Frankston residents have parents that are both born in Australia, 29.4 % have parents that are both born overseas, and 8.0 % have only a founder and 6.2 have lone a beget that is born oversea. The most common ancestries in the suburb are English ( 28.4 % ), Australian ( 24.3 % ), Irish ( 8.7 % ), Scottish ( 7.6 % ) and German ( 3.0 % ) .82.8 % talk English at home and the most coarse languages other than english spoken are included Mandarin 1.2 %, greek 1.0 %, Malayalam 0.7 %, italian 0.6 % and russian 0.5 %. [ 1 ] The median age in the suburb is 39, with 17.5 % of residents being over the senesce of 65 and 16.7 % being under the age of 14. < [ 1 ] An aging population in the suburb is balanced by several new house developments in the neighbor suburbs of the City of Frankston .

religion [edit ]

The most coarse responses for religion in Frankston were No Religion 39.6 %, Catholic 19.2 %, anglican 11.5 %. [ 1 ] Places of worship in the suburb of Frankston are predominantly churches of Christian denominations. Of the most coarse religions, the Roman Catholic Church has two parishes in the suburb : St. Francis Xavier ‘s in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), which was established in 1926 ( first church service built in 1889 ), [ 105 ] [ 106 ] [ 107 ] and St. John the Evangelist ‘s in Frankton East, [ 223 ] [ 224 ] and the greek Orthodox Church has its parish of Theofania in Frankston East. [ 225 ] The Anglican Church has two parishes in the suburb : St. Paul ‘s in the Frankston CBD, which was established in 1889 ( first church built in 1856 ), [ 61 ] and St. Luke ‘s in Frankston East. [ 226 ] [ 227 ] The Uniting Church has two congregations in the suburb, in Frankston and Karingal. [ 228 ] [ 229 ] The Lutheran Church besides has its parish of St. Peter in Karingal, which is close linked with the Karingal Uniting Church congregation. [ 230 ] Of the member-churches which did not join the Uniting Church, there are presbyterian Church and Reformed Presbyterian Church congregations in the neighbor City of Frankston suburbs of Frankston North and Frankston South respectively. [ 231 ] [ 232 ] There are two Churches of Christ in Frankston ; one which is part of the Churches of Christ Conference in Australia and another which is congregationalist. [ 233 ] [ 234 ] The unassociated church of Christ, Scientist, has a christian Science Reading Room in the Frankston CBD. [ 235 ] other large churches in the suburb are the Seventh-day Adventist Church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday Saints and the Pentecostal Jubilee Church, a well as smaller Baptist, Evangelical and non-denominational churches. [ 236 ] [ 237 ] [ 238 ] Places of worship for a number of other religions are located in the neighbor suburbs of the City of Frankston. The Ahmadiyya Muslim community has a mosque in Langwarrin ; [ 239 ] the Brahma Kumaris have a center for apparitional retirement in Frankston South ; [ 240 ] the serbian Orthodox Church has its parish of St. Stefan Decanski in Carrum Downs ; [ 241 ] the Hindu community has its Shri Shiva Vishnu Temple in Carrum Downs, which is besides the largest in Victoria ; [ 242 ] and the Oriental Orthodox Church has its Jacobite syrian parish of St. Mary in Frankston North. [ 243 ]

Housing [edit ]

A dominant allele suburban chemical element in the Frankston area means its residential property desegregate is not vitamin a diverse as areas that are closer to the Melbourne city centre —as the suburb has minimal multi-storey exploitation. however, as the economic hub a well as gateway to the Mornington Peninsula, Frankston has been defined as one of the nine activity centres in the metropolitan area of Melbourne in diverse victorian state government planning policies—which bearing to increase multi-storey property exploitation in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 6 ] [ 244 ] According to the 2016 Australian census, 26.3 % of Frankston residents own their property ; 30.5 % are purchasing their property ; and 39.7 % are renting their property. 73.8 % of invade secret dwellings were private houses ; 6.1 % were apartments, flats or units ; and 19.7 % were semi-detached houses. [ 1 ] Frankston consists largely of traditional quarter-acre blocks colloquially referred to as the “ australian Dream “, and 70 % of houses in the suburb dwell of three or more bedrooms. [ 1 ] A concentration of apartments, flats and units are besides centred around the Frankston CBD. Being one of the southernmost suburb of the metropolitan area of Melbourne, Frankston is besides one of its most low-cost. As of the March draw of 2015, the medial house price in the suburb is A $ 390,000. [ 198 ] relatively the median house price of the metropolitan sphere of Melbourne overall is A $ 638,445, [ 245 ] and the medial family price of Australia by and large is A $ 576,100. [ 246 ] Some real estate of the realm in Frankston, however, routinely sells for well above the median house price for the suburb. [ 197 ] [ 247 ] For example, properties in the catchment sphere of Frankston High School, which is one of the most reputable department of state government schools in Victoria, [ 248 ] sell on average for 16.9 % more than the median firm price. [ 247 ] The vicinity of Olivers Hill, with its bird’s-eye views across Port Philip, is home to the most expensive real estate of the realm in Frankston. [ 197 ] property in the area has sold for between A $ 3 and A $ 4 million in 2015, [ 197 ] at the lapp time as the median sign of the zodiac price in the suburb of Frankston being A $ 390,000. [ 198 ] Olivers Hill is considered to have one of the circus tent ten residential views in Melbourne. [ 196 ]

government [edit ]

The City of Frankston local government area is divided into three wards, with each of the wards represented by three councillors, which are : northwest Ward, North-East Ward and South Ward. Frankston is located in the North West Ward [ 249 ] In the state of Victoria, the South Eastern Metropolitan Region is the state government region for the victorian Legislative Council that Frankston is located in. [ 250 ] The region is represented by five members ; two from the Australian Labor Party, two from the Liberal Party of Australia, and one from the australian Greens. [ 250 ] The District of Frankston is the state government zone for the priggish Legislative Assembly that Frankston is located in. [ 251 ] The seat is presently held by the Australian Labor Party and the sitting member of fantan is fire champion and former teacher Paul Edbrooke since 2014. [ 251 ] nationally, the state of matter of Victoria is represented by 12 senators at a federal government level for the australian Senate. All 12 senators were elected in the 2016 double dissolving election ; four from the Australian Labor Party, four from the Liberal Party of Australia, two from the australian Greens, one from the National Party of Australia ( in coalescence with the Liberal Party of Australia ), and independent senator Derryn Hinch. The Division of Dunkley is the union government division for the australian House of Representatives that Frankston is located in. [ 252 ] The seat is presently held by the Liberal Party of Australia and the sitting member of parliament is former external businessman and United Nations lawyer Chris Crewther since 2016. [ 253 ] Crewther succeeded the former Minister for Small Business the Hon. Bruce Billson who had held the seat since 1996. [ 252 ] The country and federal electorates that Frankston is located in are often referred to as part of the “ Melbourne Sandbelt “ in the media. [ 254 ] [ 255 ] The term was coined to describe an area from the Melbourne inner-southeastern suburb of Sandringham south to Frankston that has a large amount of golf courses, [ 256 ] [ 257 ] but is besides used to describe the electorates of the sphere during state and federal government elections. [ 254 ] [ 255 ]

economy [edit ]

The suburb of Frankston has especial strengths in the health care, retail/ cordial reception and education industries. [ 258 ] [ 259 ] Four goodly hospitals, numerous health concern providers, two regional patronize centres, a hard goods retail park, a university campus, a large TAFE institute angstrom well as versatile secondary and primary schools are all located within the suburb and are a significant reference of use. According to the 2011 Australian census, 7.6 % of Frankston residents are employed in the health concern industry ( hospital/residential manage services ) —making it the largest diligence of employment for the suburb. [ 258 ] It is followed by 6.8 % of residents that are employed in the retail/hospitality industry and 4 % in the schools/education industry. [ 258 ] Gross regional merchandise ( GRP ) of the broader City of Frankston area was A $ 4.7 billion in 2014. [ 259 ] A $ 251.9 million of GRP was besides generated immediately from tourism in the Frankston area in 2010, [ 260 ] and is a subscriber to the A $ 2.2 billion tourism industry of the greater Mornington Peninsula area. [ 261 ] Frankston became a popular seaside address of Melbourne in the 1880s. [ 2 ] And, since the early-2000s, tourism is being reestablished as a key diligence in the area. [ 260 ] Frankston City Council prepared its first tourism scheme for the area in 2003, which continues to have a concenter on its beach and waterfront, cultural and natural inheritance, major events and festivals, performing and ocular arts, angstrom well as restaurants and shopping —with the majority of which being located within the suburb of Frankston. [ 260 ] presently the suburb of Frankston is defined by the priggish country Metropolitan Planning Authority as one of nine bodily process centres in the metropolitan area of Melbourne. [ 6 ] It is besides under retainer to be redefined as a “ national employment bunch ” for its industry strengths in health worry and education, equally well as for being both an economic hub and a tourism finish within the greater Mornington Peninsula region. [ 261 ] [ 262 ]

retail and cordial reception [edit ]

Bayside Shopping Centre is a super-regional patronize centre, and the largest in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. It is owned by Vicinity Centres ( after merging with Novion Property Group in 2015 ). [ 263 ] It has a Myer department store ; the discount department stores : Kmart and Target ; the large forte stores : Best & Less, JB Hi-Fi, Rebel Sport, Toys “ R ” Us and Trade Secret ; three supermarkets : Aldi, Coles and Woolworths ; a 12 screen Hoyts film multiplex ; a strike Bowling Bar and a farther 250 smaller specialization stores, restaurants and food outlets. [ 263 ] [ 264 ] It opened in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ) as a single plaza in 1972, and is now spread over three multi-storey interconnect malls vitamin a well as a branch entertainment precinct on Wells Street. Karingal Hub Shopping Centre is a regional shopping center, and the second largest in Frankston. It is owned by Industry Superannuation Property Trust ( ISPT ) and managed by Vicinity Centres. [ 265 ] It has a Big W discount rate department storehouse ; the large forte store Best & Less ; two Woolworths supermarkets ; a 12 screen Village film multiplex ( that besides features one of the 30 VMAX super-sized screens in Australia ) and a farther 120 forte stores, restaurants and food outlets. [ 266 ] It opened in 1978, on Cranbourne Road, in the Franktson vicinity of Karingal, and is a single-storey plaza with a small entertainment precinct. future doorway to Karingal Hub Shopping Centre is the liquor super-store Dan Murphy ‘s and the hardware super-store Womersley ‘s Mitre 10. [ 267 ] [ 268 ] Outside of Bayside Shopping Centre, the main patronize street in the Frankston CBD is Wells Street. It has a variety of boutiques, independent retailers, cafés and food outlets ampere well as a farmers ‘ marketplace on every Thursday dawn. [ 269 ] [ 270 ] In mid-2015, Frankston City Council spent A $ 3.5 million on upgrades to the street. [ 271 ] Off Wells Street, to the north ( leading to the southerly entrance of Bayside Shopping Centre ), Shannon Mall is a pedestrian promenade that besides has a number of independent retailers and cafés. many restaurants are located in the Frankston CBD, with a large concentration on the Nepean Highway, and cover a variety of cuisines which include : australian ( modern ), Chinese ( Cantonese, dumplings and advanced ), french, indian ( North and South ), italian, japanese ( including sashimi / sushi and teppanyaki specifically ), Mediterranean ( Greek and modern ), Middle Eastern, north American ( Mexican and modern grillroom ), south american ( Argentine and mod ), Southeast Asian ( fusion ), Thai, Vegetarian and Vietnamese ( including Pho specifically ). [ 272 ] [ 273 ]

Pub recess [edit ]

The Grand Hotel and The Deck Bar on the eastern side of “ public house corner ” — looking confederacy toward the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute. The overlap of Davey Street and Nepean Highway in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ) has been known as a “ hotel corner ” since the 1890s, [ 94 ] and contemporarily as “ public house corner ”. [ 23 ] The hotels and pubs on its northwest, northeastern and southwest corners, have been operating endlessly from this clock time. Around 100 years late, in the mid-1990s, they were joined by a cabaret on its southeast recess. [ 95 ] The first public house in the Frankston area, the Cannanuke Inn, [ 4 ] was located near the southeast corner of the intersection ( on the confront site of the Frankston Mechanics ‘ Institute at 1 Plowman Place ). [ 24 ] It was built by preemptive Frankston settler James Davey in the mid-1840s. [ 2 ] [ 23 ] The first hotel on a corner of the intersection, the Frankston Hotel, located on its northwest corner, was licensed on 12 December 1854. [ 52 ] The second, the Bay View Hotel, located on its northeast corner, was licensed on 15 November 1873. [ 67 ] It was built by James Davey ‘s grandson William Davey Jr. [ 67 ] The third, the Prince of Wales Hotel, located on its southwest corner, was licensed on 8 December 1884. [ 92 ] They have all been remodelled or demolished and rebuilt over the years. Its southeast corner has had a checked history. It was the site of Frankston ‘s Commonwealth Post Office which was built in 1910, and late remodelled with a telephone substitute in 1927 and expanded again in 1941. [ 116 ] It ceased operation as a post office and telephone substitution in the 1980s, after which it was remodelled as taiwanese restaurant and later as a Captain America composition restaurant. It was remodelled again as a cabaret named The Saloon during the mid-1990s, and Monkey Bar during the 2000s, and even became a denude club concisely, [ 95 ] before being remodelled as an upmarket public house named The Deck Bar in 2013. [ 274 ] The stream hotels and pubs on each corner of the intersection are Pier Hotel ‘s Flanagan ‘s irish Bar ( northwest corner ), [ 70 ] The Grand Hotel ( northeast corner ), [ 275 ] The Deck Bar ( southeast corner ), and in 2017 The Cheeky Squire brew house replaced Davey ‘s Bar and Restaurant on the southwest corner. [ 276 ] Others in the vicinity of the intersection are the public house Pelly Bar and the live music venue Pier Live .

Hard goods [edit ]

Frankston Power Centre is a hard goods retail park owned by SPG Investments. [ 277 ] It has 20 bombastic format stores chiefly retailing family goods and electronics, including : Anaconda, Forty Winks, Freedom, The Good Guys, Harvey Norman, Nick Scali, Plush and Spotlight a well as a Croc ‘s Play Centre and food outlets. [ 278 ] It is located between the Frankston CBD and Karingal, near the corner of Cranbourne Road and McMahons Road. Across from the Frankston Power Centre, on McMahons Road, is the hardware super-store Bunnings Warehouse. [ 279 ] The northwest of the suburb has a number of automotive dealerships, chiefly located on Dandenong Road, including : Fiat ( with Alfa Romeo ), [ 280 ] Ford ( and FPV ), [ 281 ] Holden ( and HSV ), [ 282 ] Honda, [ 283 ] Hyundai, [ 284 ] Jeep ( with Chrysler and Dodge ), [ 285 ] Kia, [ 286 ] Mazda, [ 287 ] Mitsubishi, [ 288 ] Nissan, [ 289 ] SsangYong, [ 290 ] Subaru, [ 291 ] Suzuki, [ 292 ] Toyota, [ 293 ] and Volkswagen ( with Audi and Škoda ). [ 294 ]

culture [edit ]

sculpt and ocular arts [edit ]

Island Sculpture by Inge King at McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park. by Inge King at McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park . The Power of Community mosaic by Deborah Halpern in Beauty Park. mosaic by Deborah Halpern in Beauty Park. McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park is a major public art gallery in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. It was established in 1971, through the bequest of poet Annie May ( Nan ) McClelland, in respect of her artist brother Harry McClelland. [ 158 ] Located at 390 McClelland Drive on the border of Frankston and the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin, it is the contribute sculpture park in Australia. [ 161 ] [ 162 ] It is set in 16 hectares of formal park and lifelike reserve with a permanent collection of over 100 large-scale sculptures by artists such as Peter Corlett, Inge King, Clement Meadmore, Lenton Parr and Norma Redpath. [ 158 ] [ 160 ] During its first base 40 years of operation its governor was philanthropist Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, [ 159 ] and it has been supported by the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Foundation since 1989. [ 160 ] As of 2015, its current film director is John Cunningham. [ 162 ] It has over 130,000 visitors per annum. [ 163 ] Four artists groups are besides based on the grounds of McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park, [ 295 ] which are the McClelland Guild of Artists, [ 296 ] McClelland Spinners and Weavers, [ 295 ] Frankston Lapidary Club, [ 297 ] and Peninsula Woodturners Guild. [ 298 ] The largest and oldest artists group in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula is the Peninsula Arts Society which has its own studios and gallery in Frankston South and was founded in 1954. [ 299 ] other artists groups in the suburb are Frankston Photography Club which is one of the largest in the metropolitan area of Melbourne and was founded in 1955, [ 300 ] [ 301 ] and the Indigenous Australian artists ‘ corporate Baluk Arts which was founded in 2009. [ 302 ] Frankston besides has over 50 sculptures in public places. [ 303 ] Most are located around the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ) and at the Frankston Waterfront. Larger additions are Sentinel, a 5-metre wooden sculpt inspired by the deity eaglehawk liveliness Bunjil ( from the Indigenous Australian Dreamtime mythology ) on Young Street by artist Bruce Armstrong ; [ 38 ] The Power of Community in Beauty Park by mosaic artist Deborah Halpern ; Sightlines along Frankston Pier by installation artist Louise Laverack, which consists of 22 nautical flag -themed weather vanes and sparkle panels that reflect the movement of the waves below ; [ 304 ] and a life-size bronze statue of Dame Elisabeth Murdoch by sculptor Peter Corlett in the anteroom of the Frankston Arts Centre. [ 305 ] southern Way, the operator of the PeninsulaLink expressway, has a partnership with McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park to place sculptures at the intersection of Cranbourne Road. [ 306 ] The sculptures are replaced every two years with the former being transferred to McClelland Gallery and Sculpture Park until 2037. [ 306 ] [ 307 ] The first was a wind-activated energizing sculpture named the Tree of Life by artist Phil Price, which was installed in 2012 and immediately became popular with residents and motorists. [ 307 ] It was replaced in 2015 with a controversial 9-metre chrome-coloured sculpt of a garden gnome named Reflective Lullaby by artist Gregor Kregar. [ 308 ] [ 309 ] In addition to permanent sculpt, Frankston is besides family to Sand Sculpting Australia ‘s annual sand festival. [ 11 ] [ 176 ] Held over four months from 26 December at the Frankston Waterfront, it is the largest exhibition of sand art in Australia and one of the largest in the Southern Hemisphere. [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ]

Music and performing art [edit ]

Frankston has a number of performing arts groups, including : amateur dramaturgy companies, amateurish and professional choirs, a concert band, an orchestra and a circus company. The largest of these groups is the Frankston Music Society which was founded by concert pianist Vera Bradford in 1967. [ 310 ] It incorporates the Frankston Symphony Orchestra which was established in 1968, and the Mornington Peninsula Chorale which was established in 1979. [ 310 ] Frankston City Band is the oldest music group in the suburb and was founded in 1949. [ 311 ] Frankston is besides home to the australian Welsh Male Choir which was founded in the suburb in 1974. [ 312 ] Frankston Theatre Group is the oldest dramatic dramaturgy company in the suburb and was founded in 1942. [ 313 ] There are besides two musical field companies in the suburb, Peninsula Light Operatic Society ( PLOS ) and Panorama Theatre Company, which were founded in 1960 and 1979 respectively. [ 314 ] [ 315 ] Smaller field companies include : the youth field company People ‘s Playhouse which was founded in 1995, [ 316 ] and the contemporaneous theater company Little Theatre which was founded by actor Kaarin Fairfax in 2009. [ 317 ] Frankston is besides home to the Hip Cat Youth Circus troupe which was founded at the Frankston Arts Centre in 2006. [ 318 ]
Frankston Arts Centre is one of the largest in Melbourne. The Frankston Arts Centre is the largest art centre in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula, ampere good as one of the largest in the metropolitan area of Melbourne, which is owned by Frankston City Council. [ 319 ] Located on the corner of Davey Street and Young Street in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ), and designed by architect Daryl Jackson, it opened in 1995. [ 170 ] It houses an 800-seat dramaturgy with the second largest proscenium arched phase in Victoria. [ 171 ] Along with its 194-seat compromising field named Cube37, it besides houses exhibition outer space, a studio and workshop and a 500-seat function hall. [ 172 ] It plays host to both country and national do arts companies including regular shows by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Victorian Opera and as a go venue for the australian Opera, Bell Shakespeare Company, Melbourne International Film Festival, Sydney Dance Company, and a phone number of other major production companies. [ 320 ] It serves over 250,000 patrons annually. [ 172 ] The George Jenkins Theatre is a 426-seat dramaturgy, and the irregular largest in Frankston, which is owned by Monash University. [ 321 ] It is located at the Peninsula campus, on McMahons Road in Frankston, and is a field of the Monash Academy of Performing Arts ( MAPA ), but is besides used by local perform arts groups. [ 322 ] It opened in 1973 as region of the early Frankston Teachers ‘ College ( which was located on the site of the Peninsula campus ) and was named after its long-serving principal. [ 323 ] A strong contemporary music scene is centred around “ public house corner ” ( the hotels and public house at the overlap of Davey Street and Nepean Highway ) in the Frankston CBD, and a number of successful musicians and bands have come from the suburb, such as 28 Days, [ 324 ] The Basics, [ 325 ] Lee Harding, [ 326 ] Madison Avenue, [ 327 ] and Superheist. [ 328 ]

Events and festivals [edit ]

Fireworks display at the 2014 Frankston Waterfront Festival . Dinostory Sand Sculpting Australia festival. sand sculpture at the 2008–2009Sand Sculpting Australia festival. The Christmas Festival of Lights has been held annually in early December since 1998, [ 329 ] and is the largest in Frankston ‘s events calendar. It takes place outside the Frankston Civic Centre and Frankston Arts Centre on the corners of Davey Street and Young Street ( which are closed to traffic during the festival ) in the Frankston central business district ( CBD ). [ 330 ] The festival includes : carnival rides, community activities and exhibitions, food stalls, live carols and music, parades and a Santa Claus progress. [ 329 ] [ 330 ] The festival culminates with the light of the 100 foot and 100-year-old Norfolk ache tree ( Araucaria heterophylla ) outside the Frankston Civic Centre and is followed by a large fireworks expose. [ 329 ] [ 330 ] The festival night attracts over 45,000 people. [ 329 ] Frankston Waterfront Festival is a celebration of Frankston ‘s seaside localization that is held per annum over a weekend in mid-january. [ 331 ] The festival takes place at the Frankston Waterfront precinct and includes : circus rides, community activities and exhibitions, fireworks display, a food and wine marketplace, live music and water activities along Frankston Beach and Kananook Creek. [ 331 ] [ 332 ] The festival besides coincides with Sand Sculpting Australia ‘s annual exhibition, [ 331 ] [ 332 ] which is the largest display of sandpaper sculpting annually in Australia. [ 12 ] [ 13 ] The exhibition attracts australian and international artists who sculpt 3,500 tonnes of sandpaper into artwork according to an annual composition. It opens on Boxing Day each year and runs till the end of April. The Frankston Waterfront Festival weekend attracts around 25,000 people, [ 333 ] and the Sand Sculpting Australia exhibition attracts over 230,000 people during its four-month scat. [ 334 ] Ventana Fiesta is boutique festival celebrating latin american, portuguese and spanish culture held per annum since 2006. [ 335 ] It is staged over a month between February and March. [ 335 ] It takes locate at sites around Frankston and Carrum Downs, and includes : Ventana Arte – an artwork and trade market ; [ 335 ] Ventana Film – a film festival ; [ 335 ] [ 336 ] Ventana Musica – traditional music performances ; [ 335 ] FEVA Cup – a beach soccer tournament ; [ 335 ] [ 337 ] and culminates with the Ventana Street Fiesta – a live music and dance party held in Wells Street Plaza in the Frankston CBD. [ 335 ] Frankston is besides a sister city to Susono in Japan, and the Frankston-Susono Friendship Association stages a japanese Cultural Fair per annum at the Frankston Arts Centre. [ 338 ] The greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia ‘s Blessing of the Waters ceremony is a christian religious event held at Frankston Beach. [ 339 ] According to local Greek Orthodox customs, a wooden cross is thrown into Port Phillip from Frankston Pier and swimmers then race to retrieve it. [ 340 ] The swimmer who retrieves the hybrid is said to be blessed with 12 months of prosperity and good fortune. [ 339 ] [ 340 ] In Eastern Christian custom, the consequence is held to commemorate the baptism of Jesus in the Jordan River, and takes place on Epiphany Day ( 6 January ). [ 339 ] Frankston was the first position in the department of state of Victoria to stage the ceremony, which has been held at Frankston Beach for over 50 years. [ 339 ] A Greek cultural celebration at the Frankston Waterfront follows the ceremony, which includes : traditional music, dancing and food. [ 339 ] good Friday in Frankston is a christian religious event that has been held at the Frankston Waterfront since 2005. It is staged by City Life Church and the Frankston Ministers ‘ Network. [ 341 ] In christian custom, the consequence is held to commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus, and takes place on good Friday ( western Christian date observation ). The “ Road to Jerusalem ” is a procession that reenacts the Sanhedrin trial, carry of the cross and crucifixion of Jesus which takes station during the event. [ 341 ] [ 342 ] It proceeds through the streets of the Frankston CBD to the Frankston Waterfront and is followed by a celebration, which includes : christian music and community activities and exhibitions. [ 342 ]

Health [edit ]

The suburb of Frankston is at the center of a big health care industry within the broader City of Frankston area—which is a health worry hub for the greater Mornington Peninsula region. [ 6 ] [ 259 ] [ 261 ] Health concern is besides the largest industry of employment for the suburb, with 7.6 % of Frankston residents being employed in the hospital/residential care services sector. [ 258 ] Four hospitals providing secondary, third and specialist caution are located in the suburb supported by numerous elementary worry providers in the besiege area. According to australian government data collected from the early Medicare Local arrangement ; between 2011 and 2012, 84 % of residents in the aggregate City of Frankston and Shire of Mornington Peninsula catchment area rated their health as being either “ good ” or higher. [ 343 ] This is close to the average of 85 % in Australia, according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ( OECD ) Better Life Index, [ 344 ] which is correlated from the Medicare Local system data. [ 345 ] Advancements in health caution have taken place in Frankston and have been led by Frankston people for over a hundred years. First during World War I, when a military hospital was established in the City of Frankston suburb of Langwarrin in order to treat australian soldiers returning with genital disease from Egypt and France. [ 100 ] [ 121 ] Between 1915 and 1916, research at the hospital led to reducing the distance of genital disease and halving the price of its treatment. [ 121 ] It besides advanced the burgeoning field of occupational therapy in Australia, during this fourth dimension. [ 121 ] In the moment half of the twentieth century ; the Frankston virologist Ruth Bishop lead the inquiry team that discovered the rotavirus in 1973, [ 346 ] and the Frankston microsurgeon Graeme Miller lead the surgical team that performed the world ‘s first successful scalp replantation in 1976. [ 347 ] [ 348 ] At the turn of the twenty-first hundred, research into botulinus toxin injection therapy for paralysis at Frankston Rehabilitation Hospital by the rehabilitation specialist Nathan Johns resulted in a stroke victim standing and walking again in 2009 after being paralysed for of 20 years. [ 349 ] [ 350 ]

Hospitals [edit ]

Frankston Hospital is a major 340 bed populace hospital, [ 351 ] and the largest in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula, which is a function of the Peninsula Health Care network. [ 134 ] It is the foreman supplier of acute accent secondary coil and tertiary manage for the broader City of Frankston area and the greater Mornington Peninsula area. [ 351 ] It opened in 1941 at 2 Hastings Road in Frankston, [ 134 ] and has been importantly expanded over time. Its most late expansion included a A $ 81 million emergency department in 2015—which is one of the largest and busiest in Victoria. [ 352 ] [ 353 ] It is a teaching hospital affiliated with nearby Monash University vitamin a well as Deakin University. [ 351 ] Peninsula Private Hospital is a 166-bed private hospital, [ 354 ] and the second gear largest hospital in Frankston, owned by australian Unity and a separate of the Ramsay Health Care network. [ 354 ] [ 355 ] It provides acute secondary coil and some tertiary care and besides has a number of primary wish providers. [ 354 ] The original hospital opened in 1976 and was located on Cranbourne Road in the Frankston vicinity of Karingal. [ 356 ] The stream hospital, at 525 McClelland Drive in Karingal, was built in 1999. [ 356 ] It was expanded with a new intensive worry whole in 2012, [ 356 ] and a A $ 55 million emergency department in 2016. [ 357 ] [ 358 ] It is besides a teaching hospital. [ 359 ] Frankston Rehabilitation Hospital is a 69-bed individual rehabilitation hospital, and the largest in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula, owned by the St John of God Health Care network. [ 360 ] It is a major provider of specialist physical and neurological reclamation care in the broader City of Frankston area and the greater Mornington Peninsula region. [ 360 ] It opened in 2000 and is located at 255–265 Cranbourne Road in Karingal—the erstwhile web site of the Peninsula Private Hospital. [ 360 ] Frankston Private Day Surgery is a 27-bed individual outpatient surgery owned by Generation Health Care and a part of the Healthscope and Genesis health care networks. [ 361 ] [ 362 ] It provides surgical and oncological procedures and besides has some primary care providers. [ 362 ] It opened in 2006 and is located at 24–28 Frankston-Flinders Road in Frankston. [ 362 ] In 2015, Healthscope announced plans to expand the outpatient operating room to an inpatient hospital named Frankston Private Hospital. [ 363 ] The hospital is to be built in three stages and will have an extra 150 beds. [ 363 ] The first stage, initially providing an extra 60 beds, will cost A $ 35 million. [ 363 ]

Amenities [edit ]

Frankston City Council ‘s Peninsula Aquatic Recreation Centre ( Frankston PARC ) is the largest health and aquatic diversion adeptness in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. [ 185 ] It has four swim pools, including an Olympic-size pool ( 50 metres ) and one of the largest warm- water exert and rehabilitation pools in Victoria ; [ 364 ] a gymnasium and a health and health center vitamin a well as early related facilities ; and provides fitness programs and is home to a number of swimming squads. [ 186 ] [ 365 ] It opened in 2014 and is located on the corner of Cranbourne Road and Olive Grove near the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 185 ] Monash Peninsula Activity and Recreation Centre ( Monash PARC ) is another bombastic health and refreshment facility, and the second largest in Frankston, which is owned by Monash University. [ 366 ] It includes the Peninsula Health and Fitness Centre ; [ 367 ] an exercise physiology lab a well as a motion and performance studio ; and is associated with the physical department of education, occupational therapy and physical therapy programs of the university. [ 366 ] It is located at the Peninsula campus of Monash University on McMahons Road in Frankston and is receptive to the public. [ 366 ] A number of other health clubs and independent gymnasium are besides located in the suburb, including : Anytime Fitness, [ 368 ] Contours, [ 369 ] Core24, [ 370 ] Curves, [ 371 ] Doherty ‘s 24-7 Gym, [ 372 ] Engergym, [ 373 ] Goodlife Health Club, [ 374 ] Input Health Club, [ 375 ] and Snap Fitness. [ 376 ]

Sports [edit ]

The suburb of Frankston besides supports a numeral of residential district level clubs for australian rules football, cricket, golf, rugby league, basketball, netball, soccer and tennis, arsenic well as baseball, ice hockey, badminton, volleyball, gymnastics, athletics and croquet clubs. The beach area supports a yacht club, a browse lifesaving golf club and the state ‘s oldest australian Volunteer Coast Guard flotilla. Frankston besides boasts one of the largest public skate parks in Australia, and urban skateboarding is popular. football ( Soccer ) has fast become one of the most popular sports played at a junior flush in the Frankston area with playing numbers increasing every year. Langwarrin Soccer Club and Frankston Pines are the leading clubs in the Frankston area both participating in the victorian State League 1. early teams in the area are Seaford United, Peninsula Strikers, Skye United and Baxter. australian rules football is popular in the suburb, and is played at both a regional and state floor. The Frankston Bombers, Karingal Bulls and Frankston Y.C.W. Stonecats play in the regional Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League ( in the Peninsula and Nepean Divisions respectively ). The state of matter club in the suburb is the Frankston Dolphins, which plays in the victorian Football League. In previous years, Frankston was the enroll partition for professional Australian Football League clubs, Hawthorn, and late St Kilda, and many star players from each team were recruited from Frankston ( see List of Frankston people ). The St Kilda Football Club signed a cover with the City of Frankston in 2007 to relocate its train infrastructure to Belvedere Par in Seaford. [ 377 ] The deal included a $ 10 million development of a aim and government facility which was completed in 2010, based on the facilities of the UK ‘s Chelsea and Aston Villa football clubs. [ 378 ] Indoor and outdoor beach volleyball is besides becoming increasingly popular in the suburb of Frankston. 2008 marked the inauguration of the Frankston Beach Volleyball Series ( character of the Virgin Blue Beach Volleyball Series ) which attracted A-list players, including olympian Tamsin Barnett. The event was besides broadcast on national television and, on the first day, the Nine Network ‘s Today broadcast live from the event. [ 379 ] Frankston Raiders play rugby league in NRL Victoria. Frankston South Community & Recreation Centre is home to Mornington Peninsila Badminton Inc .

Facilities [edit ]

many sporting fields and some small stadiums exist in the suburb. The historic Frankston Park ( home of the victorian Football League ‘s Frankston Dolphins ) and the Frankston Basketball Stadium ( home of the Australian Basketball Association ‘s Frankston Blues ). There are three golf courses in Frankston, the 1912-established Frankston Golf Course, Centenary Park Golf Course and the Peninsula Country Club ( with two more in the greater City of Frankston ). besides, the City of Frankston Bowling Club ( lawn lawn bowling ) once hosted the World Bowls Tournament in 1980. [ 380 ] The men ‘s singles consequence was won by David Bryant .

education [edit ]

versatile institutions are located in Frankston that support each degree of education— early / kindergarten, basal, junior-grade, limited development, technical and higher/university. education is besides the third base largest industry of employment for the suburb, with 4 % of Frankston residents being employed in the schools/education sector. [ 258 ]

Primary and secondary coil [edit ]

There are 11 primary schools in the suburb ; eight of which are victorian department of state government schools, and three that are Catholic-aligned independent schools. There are four secondary schools in the suburb ; Frankston High School, McClelland College and Mount Erin College are submit politics schools, [ 381 ] [ 382 ] [ 383 ] and John Paul College is a catholic mugwump school. [ 384 ] There are besides two special development schools in the suburb ; Frankston Special Development School and the Naranga School, which are country politics schools, and provide K–12 ( early on, primary and secondary ) education to students with varying intellectual disabilities. [ 385 ] [ 386 ] Frankston Primary School ( No. 1464 ) on Davey Street in Frankston is the oldest educate in the suburb—continually operating at its original site—which is a submit government school and was established in 1874. [ 68 ] Its old school house dates from 1889 and is nowadays operated as an education history museum by the Frankston Historical Society. [ 68 ] [ 102 ] The Woodleigh School is the oldest educate in the broader City of Frankston sphere, which is a layman K–12 mugwump educate and was established in 1856. [ 62 ] It was once located in the suburb of Frankston, on High Street, until it relocated its junior campus to Frankston South in 1970 and its elder campus to Langwarrin South in 1975. [ 62 ] Frankston High School is one of the most reputable state government schools in Victoria with an excellent academic record attained through a range of elongation programs. [ 248 ] Admittance to the school is determined by residing within its catchment area. veridical estate of the realm agents market residential properties as being near the school more often than any early, except Balwyn High School, in the Melbourne inner-eastern suburb of Balwyn North. [ 247 ] inquiry from the veridical Estate Institute of Victoria ( REIV ) besides identified that properties in the catchment sphere of the school sell for 16.9 % more than others in Frankston compared with 4 % more in Balwyn North. [ 247 ]

tertiary [edit ]

Chisholm Tafe Frankston The Frankston campus of Chisholm Institute is the largest supplier of technical and far department of education ( TAFE ) in Frankston and on the Mornington Peninsula. [ 387 ] Established at the go of the twentieth century, it was initially named Frankston Technical School, ( no it was n’t, was in the first place Frankston High School 12th Feb 1924 [ citation needed ] ) and was one of the first base in Victoria. [ 387 ] [ 388 ] It late became the Frankston College of TAFE in 1974, before merging with a act of other colleges of TAFE in the southeast metropolitan area of Melbourne to form the Chisholm Institute in 1998. [ 387 ] The institute takes its list from the former Chisholm Institute of Technology, which had a campus in Frankston before merging with Monash University in 1990, and had taken its name from the nineteenth hundred humanitarian Caroline Chisholm. [ 387 ] It is located on Fletcher Road in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). [ 387 ] The fifth largest campus of Monash University is located in the suburb, on McMahons Road in Frankston, and was established in 1990. [ 323 ] Named the Peninsula campus, it is alone among Monash University campuses in that it focuses on the diligence strengths specific to area it is located in. For Frankston, this includes : commerce, education and health ( with an emphasis on residential district and hand brake health ). [ 389 ] It is besides affiliated with nearby Frankston Hospital. [ 351 ] The campus is located on the web site of the former Chisholm Institute of Technology, which was founded in 1983, and merged with Monash University in 1990. [ 323 ] It was besides the Frankston Teachers ‘ College from 1959 to 1973, deoxyadenosine monophosphate well as the State College of Victoria from 1974 to 1982. [ 323 ] Before becoming an academic campus in 1959, the locate was a residential place named Struan. [ 323 ] An Arts and Crafts style country house built on the property dates from 1924, and now serves as the graduate students ‘ center of the campus. [ 323 ]

ecstasy [edit ]

Frankston railroad track station Entrance Being one of the southernmost suburb of the metropolitan area of Melbourne, ampere well as the gateway to the Mornington Peninsula, Frankston is extensively serviced by both railway and roadway. In finical, the Frankston railroad track telephone line ( named indeed because Frankston railroad track station is the stopping point metropolitan place on the credit line ) connects the suburb directly with the Melbourne city center. The regional Stony Point railway line then runs from Frankston and connects it with the easterly suburb and towns of the Shire of Mornington Peninsula. A public transmit terminus, with Frankston railway station at its center, is located on Young Street in the Frankston Central Business District ( CBD ). From the terminus, local bus topology services run throughout the suburb of the broader City of Frankston area, and connect it with the suburb of the neighbor cities of Casey, Dandenong and Kingston. Regional bus services besides run from the end point, and connect the suburb with the western suburbs and towns of the Shire of Mornington Peninsula. All fulminate lines and bus services use the Myki ticketing system, and the suburb is located in Zone 2 of the Melbourne public ecstasy net. [ 390 ] By road, the A $ 2.5 billion EastLink tollway, which opened in 2008, connects the suburb of the City of Frankston directly with the suburb of the neighbor City of Dandenong, arsenic well as the cities of Maroondah and Whitehorse. [ 391 ] The A $ 759 million PeninsulaLink expressway, which opened in 2013, connects with EastLink at the City of Frankston suburb of Seaford in the north and ends at the Shire of Mornington Peninsula town of Mount Martha in the south. [ 392 ] The expressway besides includes a 50 kilometer shared use path, which connects with the EastLink path at the neighbouring City of Kingston suburb of Patterson Lakes in the north, and ends at the Shire of Mornington Peninsula township of Moorooduc in the south. [ 393 ]

Media [edit ]

In summation to the major media services of Melbourne, Frankston is besides served by two hebdomadally local newspapers : the Frankston Standard Leader published by News Limited, [ 394 ] and Frankston Times published by Mornington Peninsula News Group ; [ 395 ] ampere well as its own YouTube groove, Frankston TV, [ 396 ] which was the first base community-driven network in Australia, [ 397 ] and is simulcast on C31 Melbourne. [ 398 ]

People [edit ]

See besides [edit ]

  • City of Frankston (former) – Frankston was previously within this former local government area.
  • Karingal and Olivers Hill – localities within the suburb of Frankston.
  • Melbourne – the metropolitan area of which the suburb of Frankston is a part.

References [edit ]

Sources [edit ]

generator : https://kubet.io
Category : music

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

KUBET - KUBET.IO
© Copyright 2020 KUBET - KU CASINO. KUBET.IO - Nhà cái hàng đầu châu Á.